“We are de­lighted to host this pres­ti­gious event again and build on the suc­cess from 2017. This will be a first for me to be in­volved in such a his­tor­i­cal tour­na­ment and be­ing able to stamp my mark on the event.

New Zealand Golf Magazine - - FEATURE -

The Manawatu Golf Club was founded in 1895 at Hokowhitu, which con­tin­ues to be its cur­rent lo­ca­tion. Pre­vi­ous PGA winners on the course have been Arthur Ham (1922), Fred Rut­ter (1930), Andy Shaw (1946) Kel Na­gle (1957) and Jar­ryd Fel­ton (2017).

The 2018 LawnMaster Hori­zon Golf NZPGA Cham­pi­onship win­ner will join a long list of fa­mous names on the McDougall Cup, first played for in 1920 when it was won by Joe Kirk­wood. The cur­rent holder is Jar­ryd Fel­ton of Aus­tralia who won in a three man play off over Josh Younger and lo­cal Ben Camp­bell. The lead­ing New Zealand player will re­ceive the Sir Bob Charles Tro­phy, which was ini­ti­ated in 2015 and won by Josh Geary. Ben Camp­bell won this ti­tle in 2017.

Ben Camp­bell and Jar­ryd Fel­ton.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.