OH, THE RULES OF GOLF!!

New Zealand Golf Magazine - - NEWS -

Web.comWeb Tour player MatthewMatt South­gate ex­pe­ri­enced­expe some­thing on thet 15th hole at the DAP Cham­pi­onship on Sun­daySun that no golfer should ever ex­pe­ri­ence. At 1 over through 14 holes, South­gate faced a short birdie putt at the 15th hole.

South­gate struck the ball well when, sud­denly, a leaf blew on the green and sent South­gate's ball off its line to the hole.

South­gate looked in dis­be­lief and from there, a frus­trated South­gate tapped in for a par, or so he thought!

In­stead, South­gate breached the Rules of Golf, as de­fined in Rule 19 which states:

If a player's ball in mo­tion after a stroke on the putting green is de­flected or stopped by, or comes to rest in or on, any mov­ing or an­i­mate out­side agency, ex­cept a worm, in­sect or the like, the stroke is can­celled. The ball must be re­placed and re­played.

South­gate did not re­play the shot from its orig­i­nal spot, re­sult­ing in a twostroke penalty.

To make mat­ters worse, South­gate signed for a 7-over 77 when the round was com­plete. Since he hadn't ap­plied the twostroke penalty from that dreaded 15th hole, he had to add two more strokes to the hole for sign­ing for an in­cor­rect score. In­stead of what he be­lieved to be a par, South­gate ac­tu­ally made a quadru­ple-bo­gey 8 at the hole.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.