Equal­ity - but not quite

New Zealand Golf Magazine - - NEWS -

Emily Nash is a keen golfer from Mas­sachusetts, USA. In 2013 she came third in the putting com­pe­ti­tion of the Mas­sachusetts Drive, Chip and Putt Re­gional Cham­pi­onship.

Move for­ward four years and the now 16 year old was al­lowed to play in a High School Golf Tour­na­ment. She just wasn't al­lowed to win.

Nash, a ju­nior at Lunen­burg High School in Lunen­burg, Mass., had the low­est score in the Cen­tral Mass Di­vi­sion 3 Boys' Golf Tour­na­ment. But the first-place tro­phy was awarded to a boy who was four strokes be­hind her, be­cause of the rules of the tour­na­ment.

Ac­cord­ing to the Mas­sachusetts In­ter­scholas­tic Athletic As­so­ci­a­tion, girls can play in the boys' golf tour­na­ment as part of a team, but they aren't al­lowed to be en­tered as in­di­vid­u­als.

That means Nash doesn't get a tro­phy, or a spot in the boy's state cham­pi­onship. That was a sur­prise to her. "I wasn't aware that if I won I wouldn't get the ti­tle or the tro­phy," she said. "I feel like it's a bit un­fair."

T.J. Au­clair, who is a well known writer for the US PGA, agreed. He called her 3-over-par score "im­pres­sive" and wrote that the rule that de­nied her a tro­phy is "so bad it makes a shank look good":

"So, let's get this straight. Nash's score which was the best in the field by four strokes, was OK to count to­ward the team ef­fort, but not OK to count in­di­vid­u­ally?

"And for those won­der­ing, yes, Nash did play from the same tees as the boys, which makes this sit­u­a­tion all the more per­plex­ing.

"It's 2017. This rule sounds like it was cre­ated in 1917."

There may well be more to come on this!

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.