The race for the lo­cal vote be­gins

North Waikato News - - FRONT PAGE - CAITLIN WAL­LACE

‘‘Waikato Mayor Al­lan San­son will be chal­lenged by Wally Hayes, Donna Ni­chols, John Dea­con and Brian Cathro.’’

The race has be­gun to rep­re­sent the North Waikato com­mu­ni­ties with close of nom­i­na­tions on Fri­day for the Oc­to­ber 8 lo­cal body elec­tions.

Up for the top job of Waikato Mayor, in­cum­bent Al­lan San­son will be chal­lenged by Wally Hayes, Donna Ni­chols and Ngaru­awahia lo­cals John Dea­con and Brian Cathro.

Four nom­i­nees will con­test the two Huntly Ward seats, with in­cum­bent Shel­ley Lynch stand­ing along­side Huntly Com­mu­nity Board chair Sandra Ste­wart, Frank McI­nally and Lo­gan Cot­ter.

In the Ngaru­awahia Ward, Janet Gibb and Mo­era Solomon are seek­ing re-elec­tion. John Dea­con, Charles Dodds, Eu­gene Pat­ter­son and com­mu­nity board deputy chair James Whetu are also stand­ing.

In Whanga­marino Ward, Jan Sedg­wick was re-elected as she was un­op­posed.

Sandra Ste­wart, Ron Far­rar and Kim Bre­den­beck will be stand­ing again but con­tend­ing against some fresh faces for the Huntly Com­mu­nity Board. For- mer Huntly com­mu­nity con­sta­ble Corey Rees has joined the race as well as Huntly West Com­mu­nity Hub’s Hine Ti­mothy and lo­cal busi­ness­man Frank McI­nally. Tina Michie and Katrina Lang­lands are also nom­i­nated.

Cur­rent Ngaru­awahia Com­mu­nity Board chair Wendy Di­a­mond is up for elec­tion again with Bryce Sher­son, James Whetu and Jack Ay­ers. New to the board race is Twin Rivers Art Cen­tre man­ager Jane Stevens, Rongo Kirk­wood, Charles Dodds, Kiri Mor­gan and Andy Ralph.

Taupiri Com­mu­nity Board chair Ken Clewlow, deputy chair Julie Ross and mem­ber Elva Gouk are back in the run­ning for a board seat, along­side Joanne Mor­ley, Dorothy Lovell, Shar­nay Cocup, Howard Lovell and Rudy Van Dam.

The five nom­i­nated for the Te Kauwhata Li­cens­ing Trust are au­to­mat­i­cally elected - they are Nireen Jef­feris, Gerald Jack­son, Alas­tair Cullen, Mo­han Singh and Pip Prat­t­ley. A by-elec­tion will be held to fill the re­main­ing va­cancy.

In the race for the two Waikato Re­gional Con­stituency po­si­tions are Tony Arm­strong, Doug Boyde, Jen­nie Hay­man, Fred Licht­wark and Max­ine Moana-Tuwhangai.

Vot­ing pa­pers will be de­liv­ered from Septem­ber 16-21.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.