Matariki com­pe­ti­tion win­ners an­nounced

North Waikato News - - YOUR LOCAL NEWS -

Af­ter re­ceiv­ing more than 600 en­tries, win­ners of the Waikato District Coun­cil li­braries Matariki com­pe­ti­tion have been an­nounced.

In cel­e­bra­tion of the Maori New Year, res­i­dents were in­vited to write a poem or de­sign a book­mark for fourth year run­ning. The com­pe­ti­tion was judged by Tuakau au­thor Janet Pates and Ngaru­awahia artist Lianne Van Den Bemd.

From Ngaru­awahia, Leila Ste­ward was named the supreme win­ner and won in the poem 5-9 years sec­tion and was pre­sented with a voucher and tro­phy.

Other win­ners were pre­sented with a $60 voucher at the pre­sen­ta­tion also.

From Ngaru­awahia Reese DanielHoani won the book­mark 10-15 years sec­tion and San­tija Silich-Steed was run­ner up.

Huntly’s Trin­ity Whyte won the poem 10-15 years while Te Kauwhata’s Lau­ren Hughes won in the poem 16+ years sec­tion.

Ngaru­awahia’s Leila Ste­ward was over­all win­ner of the Waikato District Coun­cil li­braries Matariki com­pe­ti­tion.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.