I’m vegan, do I need to take supplements?
Ask Dr Libby
Email your questions for Dr Libby to firstname.lastname@example.org. Please note, only a selection of questions can be answered. label to see if it has calcium added.
OMEGA-3 FATTY ACIDS
The omega-3 fatty acid that is found in plants is called alphalinolenic acid (ALA) and it is an essential fatty acid, meaning the body cannot synthesise it so we must obtain it from our food. ALA is found in chia seeds, flaxseeds and walnuts. The body can convert ALA into EPA and DHA, the omega-3 fatty acids that are present in oily fish, however this conversion can be inefficient. DHA is also found in algae, so there are some plant-based DHA supplements available if needed.
There are calcium-fortified almond milk options for those who go vegan.