Mid­get win for Hick­man

South Taranaki Star - - PROPERTY - JAR­ROD MAC­BETH

Duane Hick­man was the fastest of the 12-car mid­get field and won the City of New Ply­mouth Clas­sic at Strat­ford Speed­way on Satur­day night seem­ingly with ease.

Rac­ing a brand new car for the first time at his home track, Hick­man dom­i­nated the com­pe­ti­tion and set a new lap record in the process, record­ing a 14-sec­ond lap in the first race. Start­ing form grid five in race one, he hit the front of the field on lap six and stayed there to score max­i­mum points be­fore run­ning a bril­liant race in race two and com­ing home in sec­ond place form a grid 11 start. After a bad start in race three, he made a bet­ter go of the restart and ran away from the field for an­other con­vinc­ing win.

Hick­man’s re­sults en­sured he was at the top of the leader­board, nine points clear of Chris Ba­grie in sec­ond, with Brent Huijs of Whanganui in third.

‘‘It was awe­some to have a new chas­sis that is dif­fer­ent to what we have al­ways had, a good track and to get lap times like we did I was pretty happy,’’ Hick­man said. ‘‘All we did all night was change stag­ger and with more things to play with yet I think there is still more speed to come out of the car.’’

Mitch Vick­ery was the stand­out driver in the su­per­stock class, but not for his ex­cep­tional speed or race wins. Vick­ery won the Gary Adam­son Memo­rial tro­phy for the class, which is awarded to the best stir­rer on the night. He clearly had his sights set on re­tain­ing pos­ses­sion of the tro­phy he won last sea­son and through­out the three races he hit nearly ev­ery other car on the track to de­servedly win the ti­tle.

On the rac­ing side of things, it all came down to a three-way runoff be­tween Gary John­son, Lo­gan Sharpe and An­drew Lewis for the John Adam­son Memo­rial after the three were tied on points. John­son went on to claim to ti­tle, with Sharpe in sec­ond and Lewis third.

Craig Korff won the Plews Memo­rial for the sa­loon class after he and Mark Hin­ton dom­i­nated the night’s rac­ing. Jar­rod Mac­Beth fin­ished one point be­hind the pair in third.

Steve Reed won the street­stock Olsen Memo­rial, while Kyle Wil­son took out the adult min­i­s­tocks City of New Ply­mouth Clas­sic and Alana Buck­thought, Matthew Pi­card and Will Hart claimed wins in the youth min­i­s­tocks.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.