Re­sults bring some new blood to district coun­cil

Re­turns to date

South Waikato News - - NEWS -

There are four new faces around the South Waikato District Coun­cil ta­ble fol­low­ing Satur­day’s elec­tion.

The new rep­re­sen­ta­tive for Ti­rau is War­ren Lee, Adri­enne Bell is one of three coun­cil­lors for Pu­taruru and Alan Blair and Bar­rie Her­lihy are the two new mem­bers for Toko­roa.

In­cum­bents Frances Camp­bell and Wendy Cook were not re­elected af­ter sev­eral terms each as rep­re­sen­ta­tives for Toko­roa. Pu­taruru councillor Shane McMahon and Ti­rau’s Eileen Barker did not seek re-elec­tion.

Mrs Camp­bell was just 105 votes shy of be­ing re-elected while in Pu­taruru Roy Rob­bins missed out on a coun­cil seat by only 36 votes.

Neil Sin­clair has been elected for a third term as mayor with a ma­jor­ity of 2703 votes over Johnny Dry­den who was un­suc­cess­ful for all three po­si­tions he con­tested.

Jenny Shat­tock was again the high­est polling can­di­date in Toko­roa and will al­most cer­tainly be reaf­firmed as deputy Pre­lim­i­nary re­sults of the South Waikato District Coun­cil elec­tion (suc­cess­ful can­di­dates are in bold):

Mayor (one po­si­tion): Neil Sin­clair, 3833 votes; Johnny Dry­den, 1130; Sharon Clair, 739.

Ti­rau Ward (one po­si­tion): War­ren Lee, 322; Sharon Clair, 158.

Pu­taruru Ward (three po­si­tions): Her­man Van Rooi­jen, 1103; Anne Ed­meades, 1033; Adri­enne Bell; 745; Roy Rob­bins, 711; Martin Blox­ham, 637.

Toko­roa Ward (six mayor at the coun­cil’s first meet­ing on Oc­to­ber 21.

Not count­ing spe­cial votes 5049 vot­ers were cast in the elec­tion, rep­re­sent­ing 39.48 per cent of the vot­ing pa­pers sent to elec­tors.

The Ti­rau Com­mu­nity Board po­si­tions): Jenny Shat­tock, 2350; Bar­rie Her­lihy, 1637; Lyn Cor­ban, 1629; Alan Blair, 1600; Mike Gubb, 1572; Brenda Watkins, 1445; Frances Camp­bell, 1341; Colin Bri­dle, 1292; Wendy Cook, 1267; Johnny Dry­den, 1224; Puapii DanielN­gatae, 1216; Robin Atkins, 863; Pius Zam­mit, 414; Ken Mconie, 359; Max Davis, 351.

Ti­rau Com­mu­nity Board (four po­si­tions, no elec­tion nec­es­sary): Nora Martel­letti; Ge­of­frey Poole; Heather Spin­ley; Fiona van Lent. has been elected with­out the need for an elec­tion as there were only four can­di­dates for the four po­si­tions.

Those elected are Nora Martel­letti, Ge­of­frey Poole, Heather Spin­ley and Fiona van Lent.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.