Dux dis­tinc­tion to col­lege head boy

South Waikato News - - NEWS -

Stephen Shaw is the dux of Pu­taruru Col­lege for 2010.

The year 13 stu­dent re­ceived the award at the school’s se­nior prize­giv­ing last week.

In ad­di­tion Stephen also re­ceived first in year 13 math­e­mat­ics with statis­tics, eco­nom­ics and English as well as the Adri­enne Marr Tro­phy for schol­ar­ship, lead­er­ship, cul­ture and char­ac­ter.

Re­ceiv­ing the Dal­las Cup for prox­ime ac­ces­sit (run­ner up) to dux was Katy Hen­drikse.

Katy was first in year 13 math­e­mat­ics with cal­cu­lus, geog­ra­phy, earth sci­ence and bi­ol­ogy and year 12 busi­ness stud­ies.

The school’s sports awards were awarded at the prize­giv­ing with Ana Pater­son re­ceiv­ing the Pu­taruru Col­lege Sharna O’Rourke Me­mo­rial Tro­phy for sportsper­son of the year.

Pu­taruru Col­lege se­nior prize­giv­ing re­sults for 2010: Year 13 awards. Dux of Pu­taruru Col­lege and re­cip­i­ent of the Ma­son Cup, Stephen Shaw; Dal­las Cup for prox­ime ac­ces­sit Katy Hen­drikse; Adri­enne Marr Tro­phy for schol­ar­ship, sports­man­ship, lead­er­ship, cul­ture and char­ac­ter, Stephen Shaw (fi­nal­ists were Ana Pater­son, Nikki Wood, Brid­get White, Stephen Shaw, Katy Hen­drikse and Wi­tana Pet­ley); head boy, Stephen Shaw; head girl, Brid­get White; deputy head girl, Erina Smith; deputy head boy, Piri­wiri­tua He­mara; girls’ lead­er­ship, Brid­get White; boys’ lead­er­ship, Stephen Shaw. Year 13 sub­ject awards. Phys­i­cal ed­u­ca­tion, Ana Pater­son; food tech, re­cip­i­ent of the Se­nior Home Life Cup, Erina Smith; tourism, An­gela Davey; ma­te­ri­als technology, re­cip­i­ent of the Freema­son Tro­phy for ex­cel­lence in technology, Ma­son Marsh; chem­istry and re­cip­i­ent of the Willy-J Tro­phy for se­nior sci­ence, Wi­tana Pet­ley; art, paint­ing, re­cip­i­ent of the In­no­va­tive Art Award, his­tory, Alexan­dra Bow­ers-Ma­son; math­e­mat­ics, re­cip­i­ent of the Math­e­mat­ics Cup for all-round ex­cel­lence in level 3 math­e­mat­ics, physics, Matthew Schick; math­e­mat­ics with cal­cu­lus, geog­ra­phy, re­cip­i­ent of R.H. Ed­meades Fam­ily Trust Cup for earth sci­ence, bi­ol­ogy, Katy Hen­drikse; math­e­mat­ics with statis­tics, eco­nom­ics, English, re­cip­i­ent of the Simp­son Cup, Stephen Shaw. Year12 sub­ject awards. Agri­cul­ture, Matthew Schick; art – pho­tog­ra­phy, re­cip­i­ent of the PhotoLife Stu­dio Prize, Han­nah Strange; graph­ics, Rachelle An­der­son; food technology, Re­becca Leslie; gate­way, Emma Smith; ICT, Ly­dia Lomey; technology – hard ma­te­ri­als, Jesse Richards; busi­ness stud­ies, Waikato En­tre­pre­neur of the Year, Katy Hen­drikse; phys­i­cal ed­u­ca­tion, geog­ra­phy, Ben McIvor; art – paint­ing, tourism, early child­hood ed­u­ca­tion, mu­sic, Court­ney Ire­land; bi­ol­ogy, chem­istry, English, his­tory, math­e­mat­ics and physics, Dana Goodacre; over­all aca­demic top of year 12, Dana Goodacre. Year 11 sub­ject awards. Food technology, Re­becca Greene; busi­ness ad­min­is­tra­tion and in­for­ma­tion man­age­ment, Shan­non Trower; tech­ni­cal – ma­te­ri­als, re­cip­i­ent of the White Cliffs Tim­ber Ltd prize, Daniel McCon­nell; te reo Maori, Tatyana Mul­li­gan-Moeke; South Pa­cific ed­u­ca­tional cour­ses, Dewrangi Mo­ratu Waduge; eco­nom­ics/ ac­count­ing, Ly­dia Lomey; math­e­matic, Calvin Smith; geog­ra­phy and so­cial sci­ence, sport, Kate McCaughan; art, mu­sic, Ja­son Tek­len­burg; ICT, phys­i­cal ed­u­ca­tion, Zane Far­row; English, graph­ics, his­tory, sci­ence, Ni­cholas Schick. Over­all aca­demic top of year 11, Ni­cholas Schick (fi­nal­ists were: Kate McCaughan, Ni­cholas Schick, Florin Zaicu, Ly­dia Lomey and Zane Far­row). Arts and cul­ture awards. South Waikato News Award for es­say writ­ing across a range of sub­jects, Dana Goodacre; Itin­er­ant Mu­sic Award for ef­fort in­volve­ment and per­for­mance, Abi­gail Maru­rai; Von­nie Kay Me­mo­rial Cup for con­tri­bu­tion to mu­sic dur­ing the cur­rent year, both in and out of school in­clud­ing suc­cess in na­tional com­pe­ti­tion per­for­mance, Ken­dal West; Far­quhar Tro­phy for back­stage/ pro­duc­tion – tech­ni­cal, Willem Akkersma; How­land Prize for the per­form­ing arts in drama, mu­sic per­for­mance, or­a­tory and de­bat­ing, Se­nior Speech Cup, David Bell Cup for mu­sic for over­all ex­cel­lence and ser­vice to mu­sic dur­ing his years at col­lege, Stephen Shaw; Maori lead­er­ship in the kapa haka, Trey Maaka.

Mer­i­to­ri­ous awards.

Year 11 award for work­ing suc­cess­fully at lev­els 2, 3 and 4 (uni­ver­sity level) in com­put­ing, Florin Zaicu; year 13 award for lead­er­ship and ini­tia­tive shown in a va­ri­ety of col­lege ex­tra cur- ric­u­lar ac­tiv­i­ties, Nikki Wood; out­stand­ing achieve­ment in a sec­ond lan­guage, Leonie De Vries. School ser­vice awards. Se­nior Stu­dent Li­brar­ian Award, Alexan­dra Bow­er­sMa­son, Zane Far­row, Christina Main, Dewrangi Mo­ratu Waduge, Jesse Richards.

AFS Cen­tral Plateau Award for fos­ter­ing cul­tural re­la­tion­ships, Nikki Wood. High achieve­ment awards. Mak­ene Tro­phy for com­mit­ment in kapa haka, aca­demic and sport­ing achieve­ment, the He Taonga Whaka­mauma­haratanga Ki a Doreen Gre­gory: for Maori aca­demic achieve­ment, Wi­tana Pet­ley; West­pac Cup for best per­for­mance in the Aus­tralian West­pac math­e­mat­ics com­pe­ti­tion, Kate­lyn Schick. Sports awards. Hockey play­ers of the year, Kate McCaughan and Stu­art Laird; soc­cer play­ers of the year, John Keith and Ana Pater­son; rugby player of the year, Richard Blom­field; net­baller of the year, Shayla Rata; the Olympic Tro­phy for ath­lete of the year, Sinead White; Fair­play Cup, Kate McCaughan; TTT Tro­phy for team achieve­ment and sports­man­ship, 1st XV Rugby (fi­nal­ists were hockey, ju­nior girls bas­ket­ball and 1st XI girls foot­ball; Pu­taruru Col­lege Sharna O’Rourke Me­mo­rial sportsper­son of the year, Ana Pater­son (fi­nal­ists were Gary-Jack Gibb, Blaze Rata, Ana Pater­son, Stephen Shaw, Brid­get White, Richard Blom­field, Cameron Pater­son and Sinead White).


ALL­ROUNDER: 2010 Pu­taruru Col­lege dux Stephen Shaw also won awards for lead­er­ship and mu­sic and was a fi­nal­ist for the schools top sportsper­son prize.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.