All suc­cess is equal, says pro­fes­sor

South Waikato News - - NEWS -

For­est View High School re­warded it’s top se­nior stu­dents ear­lier this month.

At the school’s an­nual se­nior prize­giv­ing Mor­gan Pourau was pre­sented with the award for dux.

Mor­gan, who will start a Bach­e­lor of Sci­ence at Lin­coln Uni­ver­sity next year, re­ceived sev­eral awards in­clud­ing the Piwi Tipi Haere Tro­phy for the top Maori aca­demic achiever.

Mor­gan was also awarded first in sub­ject prizes for level three, bi­ol­ogy, chem­istry and phys­i­cal ed­u­ca­tion as well as a Year 13 Merit Award for out­stand­ing ef­fort and at­ti­tude.

Prox­ime Ac­ces­sit went to the school’s 2010 stu­dent leader of learn­ing, Ethan McKenzie.

Among Ethan’s ac­co­lades were aca­demic awards for writ­ing and speech mak­ing, the Al­leas­ing Cup and Rent Plus Award for best se­nior stu­dent in sci­ence and math­e­mat­ics and first in level three math­e­mat­ics with cal­cu­lus, math­e­mat­ics with statis­tics, physics and English as well as a Year 13 Merit Award. Ethan is plan­ning to do a work-based OE around Europe next year.

Guest speaker at the prize­giv­ing was Pro­fes­sor Des­mond Gor­man, as­so­ci­ate dean of the Fac­ulty of Med­i­cal and Health Ser­vices of the Uni­ver­sity of Auck­land.

Pro­fes­sor Gor­man said that New Zealan­ders strug­gle to do two things: fail­ure and suc­cess. He said there was a mis­taken be­lief that there is a hi­er­ar­chy for suc­cess and he stressed that there is no type of suc­cess that is in­fe­rior to an­other type of suc­cess

He chal­lenged the au­di­ence to not al­low ‘‘ig­no­rant and stupid peo­ple’’ to steal their right to en­joy their achieve­ments and suc­cesses.

For­est View High School Se­nior Prize­giv­ing re­sults for 2010: Spe­cial awards Dux, Toko­roa Host Lions Club Award, tro­phy do­nated by Whit­bread-Ed­wards fam­ily, the Dux Medal, Piwi Tipi Haere Tro­phy and John Stevens Elec­tri­cal Schol­ar­ship for the top Maori aca­demic achiever, Mor­gan Pourau; Prox­ime Ac­ces­sit, Al­leas­ing Cup and Rent Plus Award for best se­nior stu­dent in sci­ence and math­e­mat­ics, Toko­roa New World Award, Green­stone Group Waikato LP Award for Aca­demic Ex­cel­lence, For­est View High School Cup, The Hig­gins Cup for year 12 and 13 speeches,the Mrs L Davey Cup for year 12 and 13 writ­ing, Ethan McKenzie; S R and A Deihl Award, For­est View High School Staff Cup for best se­nior stu­dent in arts and so­cial sci­ence, Kelly Ni­cholas and Amy-Leigh Christie; Toko­roa City Lions Me­mo­rial Award for the all-round pupil pro­ceed­ing to ter­tiary ed­u­ca­tion, Brian King Award for con­tri­bu­tion to mu­sic, Head Boy Award, John Bright; Head Girl Award, Kelly Ni­cholas; Ben Sned­don Cup for agri­cul­ture, Wes­ley Johnston; Con­tri­bu­tion to Li­brary Award, Cindy Nguyen; the Toast­mas­ters Cup for year 11 speeches, Teish Teitako; Year 11 writ­ing award, Tul­lia Pye; award for com­mit­ment and con­tri­bu­tion to light­ing and sound over a num­ber of years; Danielle Reeves; for con­tri­bu­tion to the stu­dent coun­cil, Jesse Ruru; AFS Cen­tral Plateau Chap­ter Prize for the stu­dent who shows abil­ity in pro­mot­ing un­der­stand­ing be­tween cul­tures, Caitlin Whit­ford; the Spray and Fert­worx Ltd Cup for con­tri­bu­tion to the cul­tural life of the school, Matthew Po­toru; the Yvonne Manuel Me­mo­rial Tro­phy, Te Piringatahi Stu­dent of the Year Award for the most co-op­er­a­tive pupil in Maori ac­tiv­i­ties, Chloe Po­mare; Te Kop­utan­gata Mu­tua Tro­phy for com­mit­ment and con­tri­bu­tion to Po­line­tia Fa’atasi at a se­nior level, Mathew Tautari. Year 13 sub­ject awards. Hos­pi­tal­ity, food and nutrition, Robyn Joynt; the BNSW Cup for busi­ness ad­min­is­tra­tion, pho- tog­ra­phy Indira Hodges; com­puter stud­ies, Michael Salmon; tourism, Olivia Sin­clair; mu­sic, Tracy Chua; web-page, Danielle Reeves; agri­cul­ture, Char­lotte West; dance, Ro­man Masters; The Watkins Tro­phy for his­tory, Kelly Ni­cholas; The Vanya Crocker Award for paint­ing for Amy Ni­chol­son; The Julie Ann Gawn Me­mo­rial Tro­phy for bi­ol­ogy, The Cox Cup for chem­istry, The Scar­lett Cup for phys­i­cal ed­u­ca­tion, Mor­gan Pourau; The NZ So­ci­ety geog­ra­phy prize, Amy-Leigh Christie; the Blucher Cup for math­e­mat­ics with cal­cu­lus, math­e­mat­ics with statis­tics, physics, the Brian Hayson Me­mo­rial Tro­phy for English, Ethan McKenzie.

Merit awards for out­stand­ing ef­fort and at­ti­tude, Matthew Brid­son, John Bright, Amy-Leigh Christie, Tracy Chua, Se­lena Craig, Thomas Dun­can, Fraser Flutey, Indira Hodges, Wes­ley John­stone, Cody Magee, Ethan McKenzie, Kelly Ni­cholas, Mor­gan Pourau, Jesse Ruru, Michael Salmon, Olivia Sin­clair, Ash­leigh Wil­son, Emma Woodrow-Smith. Year 12 sub­ject awards. Dance, Teish Taikato; busi­ness ad­min­is­tra­tion, Jax Baker; com­puter stud­ies, Ni­cholas Tot­ton; hos­pi­tal­ity, Chantel Lam­bert; prepa­ra­tion for em­ploy­ment, Sarah Kasper; math­e­mat­ics (12MA2), Jor­don Pye; com­mu­ni­ca­tion English, Ker­rid Te Hiko; phys­i­cal ed­u­ca­tion, pho­tog­ra­phy, Laura Clark; geog­ra­phy, so­cial stud­ies, his­tory, Tay-Jana Brown; art, graph­ics, Nel­son Chan; na­tional cer­tifi­cate in math­e­mat­ics, Sa­muel Flavell; tourism, Shiloh Ed­wards; English in­ter­nally as­sessed, Chloe Po­mare; me­chan­i­cal en­gi­neer­ing level 2, Jor­don Suther­land; build­ing con­struc­tion and al­lied trades, James Suther­land; food and nutrition, Kim To­toro; health, Kasey Bore­ham-Devos; first equal in agri­cul­ture, Ge­or­gia Newton, Ty­lar Martin-Sim­mons; au­to­mo­tive, Joseph Rusk; video con­fer­ence his­tory, bi­ol­ogy, chem­istry, physics, English, math­e­mat­ics, Cindy Nguyen; eco­nom­ics, Ira Pas­coe; sports academy, Ma­son Nestor; me­dia stud­ies, Zoe Jansen.

Merit awards for out­stand­ing ef­fort and at­ti­tude, Tay-Jana Brown, Hazel Brown, Laura Clark, Aaron Emer­son, Sarah Kasper, Na­dine More, Ma­son Nestor, Cindy Nguyen, Ira Pas­coe, Jor­don Pye, Niria Rika, Alexis Shaw, Kim To­toro, Ni­cholas Tot­ton. Year 11 sub­ject awards. Food and nutrition, Shai-Star Whetu; hos­pi­tal­ity, Sa­vanna Leonard; eco­nom­ics, Han­nah Adams; mu­sic, Jor­dan Ehrhardt; na­tional cer­tifi­cate in math­e­mat­ics, Cheyanne Manu; fur­ni­ture mak­ing, Daniel Steed; me­chan­i­cal en­gi­neer­ing, An­thony Marsh; geog­ra­phy, Luanna Karl; dance, Mariana Mutu; graph­ics, Maxwell Har­ris; au­to­mo­tive, agri­cul­ture, Joshua Pen­nefa­ther; com­mu­ni­ca­tion English, Damian Burich; carv­ing, Corey Carter; English in­ter­nal op­tion, Amanda An­drew; his­tory, Lakin Hall; math­e­mat­ics (MA2), Deni Jay McLean; sci­ence, health, first equal in so­cial stud­ies, Al­lanah Pearce; first equal in so­cial stud­ies, Ja­panese, English, first equal in art, Tul­lia Pye; first equal in art, Maori, Alisha Haare; NZ sci­ence, Tara-Anne Pas­coe; in­for­ma­tion man­age­ment, Hi­lary Dahm; math­e­mat­ics, Ry­otaro Wright; phys­i­cal ed­u­ca­tion, Nick Drys­dale.

Merit awards for out­stand­ing ef­fort and at­ti­tude, Amanda An­drew, Martha Bowring, Hi­lary Dahm, Sheri­dan Daniels, Za­nia Dou­glas, Jor­dan Ehrhardt, Sam Grib­ble, Maxwell Har­ris, Lakin Hall, Luana Karl, Thea Kei­thMatchitt, Sa­vanna Leonard, Cheyanne Manu, Tara Pas­coe, Alan­nah Pearce, Joshua Pen­nefa­ther, Tul­lia Pye, Leti­tia Taikato, Bri­ana Te Whare, Shai Star Whetu.


TOP TWO: For­est View High School dux Mor­gan Pourau (cen­tre) and prox­ime ac­ces­sit Ethan McKenzie with guest speaker at their prize­giv­ing Pro­fes­sor Des­mond Gor­man.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.