Awards ac­knowl­edge out­stand­ing cadets

South Waikato News - - NEWS -

The South Waikato’s Air Train­ing Corps squadron held its fi­nal pa­rade of the year and awards were pre­sented to nine cadets at the De­cem­ber 12 cer­e­mony at South Waikato District Coun­cil.

Guest speaker Colin Am­slie of Pu­taruru was also the win­ner of the raf­fle drawn on Mon­day night.

Raf­fle pro­ceeds will help Flight Sergeant Cher­rise Cap­per at­tend an air­force flight course at Christchurch in the new year.

Train­ing Corps sec­re­tary Raewyn Blake said she and Ms Clap­per ap­pre­ci­ated the sup­port Cher­rise had re­ceived from South Waikato busi­nesses and ser­vice clubs which had do­nated goods for the raf­fle or made do­na­tions to the trip.

2010 ATC award re­cip­i­ents: J A Cos En­gi­neer­ing Cup for most im­proved cadet, Lac L Pol­lard; Lorna Pope Cup for at­ti­tude and at­ten­dance, Flight Sergeant C Cap­per; The Mur­ray Kidd Tro­phy for small arms and shoot­ing, Cadet J Love­day; The John To­hill Shield for ex­cel­lence in bushcraft, Cadet R Quirke; The Kennedy Tro­phy for dress drill and bear­ing Sergeant J Pen­nefa­ther; Toko­roa RSA Tro­phy for com­mu­nity ser­vice, Cor­po­ral C Hill; The Bret­ton Tro­phy for great­est con­tri­bu­tion fo espirit de corps, Cadet R Quirke; Royal NZ Air­force As­so­ci­a­tion Cup for best first year cadet, Cadet T Kairau; McRae Tro­phy for out­stand­ing pro­fi­ciency cadet, Cadet B Fel­ton; Aaron John Tuiman Me­mo­rial Cup for over­all ex­cel­lence in lead­er­ship, ini­tia­tive and at­ti­tude, U/O A Ge­orge; Blake Fam­ily Tro­phy for best fundrais­ing cadet, Flight Sergeant C Cap­per.


ATC AWARDS: Win­ners at the ATC’s fi­nal pa­rade in­cluded (clock­wise from top left) Flight Sergeant C Cap­per, Cadet T Kairau; Sergeant J Pen­nefa­ther, Cadet R Quirke and Cadet B Fel­ton.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.