Club claims cup

South Waikato News - - NEWS -

The Buchanan Chal­lenge Cup, pre­sented to the Ro­torua Bowl­ing Club by Arthur Win­ter of Lon­don and now known as the Ro­torua Coun­try Cup, has been con­tested since 1930 by teams from the Ro­torua and East­ern Waikato. In its 83-year his­tory, 15 dif­fer­ent clubs have won the Coun­try Cup and this year a new club was added.

The Toko­roa Bowl­ing Club be­came the 16th club to win the tro­phy.

Older club mem­bers can re­mem­ber con­test­ing the tro­phy as far back as the early 60s and ev­ery year teams have re­turned home with the hard luck story and a con­tin­u­ing mood of frus­tra­tion. But on Armistice Day all this changed when Ron Kirk­bride, Ken Sul­li­van, Les Broad­hurst and Tony Edgar lifted the cup with four ex­cel­lent wins. It is hoped the drought is bro­ken. It will be de­fended next year in Toko­roa.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.