South Waikato News - - NEWS -

On this day in 2010, Kathryn Bigelow be­came the first woman to win an Academy Award for best di­rec­tor, for The Hurt Locker. Prior to Bigelow, three women had been nom­i­nated for best di­rec­tor: Lina Wert­mueller for 1975’s Seven Beau­ties, Jane Cam­pion for 1993’s The Pi­ano and Sofia Cop­pola for 2003’s Lost in Trans­la­tion.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.