Weather up against golf

South Waikato News - - SPORT -

For the past 22 years Toko­roa Golf Club has hosted one of the most pres­ti­gious golf tour­na­ments in the Waikato, the Toko­roa $10,000 Clas­sic. Last week­end more than 100 golfers played the course un­der very chal­leng­ing con­di­tions.

The weather bomb that hit on Satur­day caused play to be sus­pended then even­tu­ally can­celled. The 36 hole tour­na­ment was short­ened to just the 18 holes played on Sun­day.

Thank­fully the weather im­proved on Sun­day and some very im­pres­sive scores were achieved – re­flect­ing the pris­tine state of the course and high cal­i­bre of play­ers in the field.

In the men’s division I, the best gross score af­ter 18 holes was a three-way tie, forc­ing a play-off to de­fine fi­nal places. Ju­nior golfer Nathaniel Cas­sidy, spon­sored by In­dus­trial Valve Engi­neer­ing was the gross win­ner of the 2012 YR’s Painters $10,000 Clas­sic. Gavin Cortesi, spon­sored by the Toko­roa Cos­mopoli­tan Club was 2nd and Daniel Smith, 3rd. Fel­low ju­nior golfer Liam McKain, spon­sored by Ex­pe­rian cel­e­brated his 15th birthday in style by win­ning the best net in men’s division I with Tu­rangi’s Ti­raa Ge­orge 2nd and Lauchie Phillips 3rd. Suki Rea won best stable­ford in division I with a fan­tas­tic 42 points, 2nd was Con­rad Sal­is­bury and Mick Shaw was 3rd.

In men’s division II the gross win­ner was Bren­don Welch, spon­sored by Kevin McGovern Mo­tors, Bren­dan Mor­gan was 2nd and 3rd Tony Edgar. Joe McGee had the best division II net score with Teina Tekopua 2nd and Trex Paiti was 3rd.

Owen Wil­son, spon­sored by Pu­taruru Elec­tri­cal had the best stable­ford score in division II, with Rus­sell Bur­man 2nd and Les O Leary, spon­sored by Les O Leary Posts, 3rd.

This year’s gross win­ner in the ladies’ division was Kahupiki Winikerei, spon­sored by R J Lin­coln Trans­port. Net win­ner was Shanynn McCaskill and best stable­ford was won by Jan Grange, spon­sored by T G M Ser­vices. This year’s win­ners of the Red Bull Com­pe­ti­tion were Nor­man Thomp­son in division I, Trex Paiti division II and Shanynn McCaskill for the ladies.

A fea­ture of the Toko­roa $ 10,000 Clas­sic that sets it apart from other golf tour­na­ments is the ‘‘shoot-out’’ held af­ter play on Sun­day af­ter­noon. This year was the Thomas Jewellers Shoot Out and af­ter some fierce com­pe­ti­tion the win­ners were in men’s division I Da­mon Jake­man, spon­sored by New World Toko­roa, Barry Preece in men’s division II and Ann Preece won this year’s ladies Shoot Out. Con­grat­u­la­tions to the win­ners and thank you to the spon­sors. Thanks also to Shirley Buck­ley, her $10K com­mit­tee and vol­un­teers.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.