Sur­prises in store for Waikato Dairy Awards win­ners

South Waikato News - - RURAL DELIVERY -

The 2013 Waikato Dairy In­dus­try Awards win­ners will re­ceive some amaz­ing ex­pe­ri­ences and recog­ni­tion that will boost their con­fi­dence and farm busi­ness.

The win­ners of the 2013 Waikato Sharemilker/ Eq­uity Farmer of the Year, Waikato Farm Man­ager of the Year and Waikato Dairy Trainee of the Year com­pe­ti­tions will be an­nounced at an awards din­ner on March 8 at the Bledis­loe Hall, Mys­tery Creek.

Re­gional con­venors Lisa and Ja­son Suisted say the re­gion re­ceived nearly 70 en­tries and will hand out about $80,000 in cash and prizes.

“This year’s win­ners will be pre­sented with unique op­por­tu­ni­ties and have some amaz­ing ex­pe­ri­ences when they head to the na­tional fi­nals,” she says.

There are 15 com­pet­ing for the Waikato sharemilker/ eq­uity farmer ti­tle, 26 in the farm man­ager con­test and 26 con­test­ing the dairy trainee ti­tle. The re­gion re­ceived the sec­ond high­est num­ber of en­tries out of the 12 re­gions and recorded the high­est num­ber of farm man­ager en­trants.

The awards are sup­ported by West­pac, DairyNZ, Eco­lab, Fed­er­ated Farm­ers, Fon­terra, Honda Mo­tor­cy­cles NZ, LIC, Merid­ian En­ergy, Ravens­down and RD1, aand AgITO.

Lisa and Ja­son Suisted won the New Zealand Sharemilker/Eq­uity Farmer of the Year ti­tle in 2011. Af­ter serv­ing on the re­gional com­mit­tee last year, they are con­ven­ing the awards for the first time.

“The awards have been great for us. We have met some in­ter­est­ing peo­ple, made great con­tacts with in­dus­try pro­fes­sion­als and spon­sors, and learnt a lot about us and how our farm busi­ness op­er­ates.”

Mrs Suisted says some ex­cel­lent peo­ple have en­tered the Waikato awards.

The cou­ple says those con­sid­er­ing en­ter­ing the awards should come along to the re­gional awards din­ner and ex­pe­ri­ence the ben­e­fits first hand.

“There’s a wealth of knowl­edge out there and it’s all for free! It’s a huge learn­ing ex­pe­ri­ence.”

The New Zealand Dairy In­dus­try Awards na­tional fi­nal will be held in Welling­ton on May 24, with $140,000 in cash and prizes on of­fer.

The Suist­eds are the re­gion’s only win­ners of the New Zealand Sharemilker/Eq­uity Farmer com­pe­ti­tion, re­vamped in 2011 to in­clude eq­uity farm man­agers.

The Waikato re­gion had con­sid­er­able success in the sharemilker con­test, with rep­re­sen­ta­tives win­ning four times in the con­test’s his­tory. In 2004 Hugh Candy and Kerry Lu­cas- Candy were the na­tional win­ners, Dave and Julie Davis won in 2001, Ian and Karyn Brown won in 1997, and Clem and Pa­tri­cia Captein were the 1991 win­ners.

The 2008 Waikato Farm Man­ager of the Year win­ner, Olin Greenan, won the New Zealand Farm Man­ager of the Year, a na­tional award that be­gan in 2003.

Tick­ets to the Waikato awards din­ner cost $85. Con­tact­ing Lisa Suisted on 07 824-2189.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.