There can only be one mayor

South Waikato News - - Your Paper, Your Place - LUKE KIRKEBY

As the South Waikato lo­cal body elec­tion re­sults be­gan to come in it be­came ev­i­dent the four horse race had be­come that of two.

For­mer deputy mayor Jenny Shat­tock, who has now been elected mayor, and Tracey Deane were the clear fron­trun­ners which showed after 98 per cent of the votes were counted.

Shat­tock claimed 2,972 and Deane 1,806, while Alan Blair and Jar­rad Gal­lagher lagged some­what be­hind with 962 and 210 re­spec­tively.

Deane said she was dis­ap­pointed for her sup­port­ers that she was not elected.

‘‘It was an hon­our to stand for them and I am sorry I haven’t done it for them be­cause they waited three years to try and get me over the line,’’ she said.

She said the re­sults sur­prised her.

‘‘At the mo­ment it is look­ing a lit­tle un­usual that my num­ber has gone down a bit. I would have thought it would have been a bit more or the same, not down, but we will have to wait and see what hap­pens later in the week,’’ she said.

Deane said she doesn’t have any plans in place yet but she could po­ten­tially stand again in three years if peo­ple wanted her to.

‘‘Three years is a long time but any­thing can hap­pen,’’ she said.

She said that although she was un­suc­cess­ful, peo­ple made her cam­paign worth­while.

‘‘I just loved the peo­ple and meet­ing so many of them so I thank them from the bot­tom of my heart. They were worth ev­ery rain­drop and gust of wind,’’ she said.

Gal­lagher said he was not sur­prised by the re­sults and wished Shat­tock well.

‘‘I was the out­sider but I am in this for the long hall and I don’t in­tend to go away,’’ he said.

He said he plans to con­tinue work­ing as a prop­erty de­vel­oper in the area and work­ing closely with the coun­cil to see the dis­trict move to­wards a more pos­i­tive fu­ture.

Although dis­ap­pointed Blair said it was a priv­i­lege to live in a democ­racy and he too con­grat­u­lated Shat­tock.

‘‘They have gone for ex­pe­ri­ence that is for sure,’’ he said.

‘‘I was ex­pect­ing to win, I would not have stood if I didn’t think I could have but life goes on.

‘‘This is the end of my po­lit­i­cal as­pi­ra­tions but there are other op­por­tu­ni­ties out there in the com­mu­nity,’’ he said.

May­oralty: Jenny Shat­tock (2,972 votes).

Ti­rau Ward: Peter Schulte (236).

Pu­taruru Ward: Gray Bald­win (1,049), Her­man Van Rooi­jen (1,011), Adri­enne Bell (865)

Toko­roa Ward: Wil­liam (Bill) Machen (2,086), Jeff Gash (1,939), Arama Ngapo-lip­scombe (1,651), Thomas Lee (1,616), Marin James Glu­cina (1,543), Wendy Cook (1,344).

Ti­rau Com­mu­nity Board: Cas­san­dra Robin­son (443), Derek Keesing (377), Clive Colling­wood (315), Sharon Burl­ing-clar­idge (226).

From left un­suc­cess­ful may­oral can­di­dates Tracey Deane, Jar­rad Gal­lager, and Alan Blair and new mayor Jenny Shat­tock.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.