Mercedes-benz E-class wins NZ Car of the Year

South Waikato News - - Motoring -

A dash of the high life for the NZ COTY this year.

The su­per-luxury, hi-tech Mercedes-benz E-class has won the New Zealand Car of the Year Award.

The E-class was cho­sen from a short­list of 10 by the mem­ber­ship of the NZ Mo­tor­ing Writ­ers Guild and rep­re­sen­ta­tives from the NZ Au­to­mo­bile As­so­ci­a­tion. The two or­gan­i­sa­tions col­lab­o­rate on the award each year.

The judges praised the big Merc’s safety tech­nol­ogy, par­tic­u­larly its au­to­mated-drive fea­tures that help it to avoid ac­ci­dents al­to­gether.

Prices for the E-class start at $99,900, ris­ing to $149,900 for the cur­rent flag­ship model.

Click here for "Our" Top Cars of 2016

En­gines in­clude a 2.0 tur­bopetrol four with 135kw/300nm or 180kw/370nm, a 2.0 turbo-diesel four with 143kw/400nm, a 3.0-litre turbo-diesel V6 with 190kw/ 620Nm and a 3.0-litre bitur­bopetrol with 245kw/480nm.

All cur­rent models have a nine­speed au­to­matic and rear-drive.

Guild pres­i­dent Liz Dob­son was not present for the cer­e­mony at Auck­land’s Viaduct Events Cen­tre, but the award was pre­sented to Mercedes-benz NZ gen­eral man­ager Ben Gif­fin by long-serv­ing guild mem­ber and cur­rent vice-pres­i­dent Robert Barry.

The Guild is an in­de­pen­dent or­gan­i­sa­tion that rep­re­sents mo­tor­ing jour­nal­ists from all over NZ, cov­er­ing all forms of me­dia.

Mem­ber­ship in­cludes Stuff Mo­tor­ing writ­ers David Linklater, Rob Maet­zig and Damien O’car­roll.

A spe­cial com­mit­tee is formed each year to se­lect the short­list.

To be el­i­gi­ble for the 2016 award, ve­hi­cles had to be launched be­tween 1 Oc­to­ber 2015 and 30 Septem­ber 2016.

The other short­listed fi­nal­ists were: Holden Spark, Honda Civic, Kia Sportage, Mazda CX-9, Mercedes-benz GLC, Skoda Su­perb, Subaru Levorg, Suzuki Vi­tara, and Volk­swa­gen Tiguan.

Stuff Mo­tor­ing’s own an­nual au­to­mo­tive awards are cur­rently un­der way, as we roll out the top 20 cars of the year. Our Top Car for 2016 will be an­nounced on De­cem­ber 16.

PRE­VI­OUS NZ COTY WIN­NERS BMW i3 (2015) Mazda3 (2014) Volk­swa­gen Golf (2013) Toy­ota 86 (2012) Ford Fo­cus (2011) BMW 5-se­ries (2010) Ford Fi­esta (2009) Ford Fal­con (2008) Mazda2 (2007) Porsche Cay­man (2006) Mazda MX-5 (2005) Nis­san Max­ima (2004) Honda Ac­cord Euro (2003) Mazda6 (2002) Ford Mon­deo (2001) Mercedes-benz C-class (2000)

All-new E-class is the best car of 2016, says Mo­tor­ing Writ­ers Guild and the AA.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.