Alonso handed grid penalty


MCLAREN’S Fer­nando Alonso will start to­day’s Ja­panese grand prix from the back of the grid af­ter the Spa­niard picked up a 35-place penalty when the team’s me­chan­ics fit­ted his car with a fresh power unit on Fri­day night.

The team broke cur­few – dur­ing which mem­bers as­so­ci­ated with the op­er­a­tion of the car must leave the track – af­ter the en­gine the dou­ble world cham­pion used on the open­ing day of prac­tice suf­fered a hy­draulic is­sue.

Rules re­strict driv­ers to no more than four power units and its con­stituent com­po­nents for the du­ra­tion a sea­son, and Alonso has long ex­ceeded his al­lo­ca­tion as McLaren con­tinue to strug­gle with a lack of re­li­a­bil­ity from their Honda en­gines. - Reuters

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.