My Sun­day

Sunday Star-Times - Sunday Magazine - - SNAPSHOT -

Natur­opath, nu­tri­tion­ist and for­mer body­builder Jess Blair, 32; her hus­band, War­riors player Adam Blair, 32; and their two sons, Har­lem, 7 and Taika, 14 months, re­cently moved from Bris­bane to Auck­land. She ex­plains to Sinead Cor­co­ran how Sun­days have changed for her fam­ily. We’re used to mov­ing around by now, but ev­ery time we do, we hope it’s the last time. Ob­vi­ously when you stay in one team you don’t move around as much, but Adam has changed teams so we’ve moved around a lot. Be­fore com­ing here we lived in Bris­bane for three years, then be­fore that Syd­ney and be­fore that Mel­bourne. Adam moved to New Zealand on Jan­uary 3, and the kids and I moved on the 21st. We had to come over later be­cause I’d in­jured my leg. I had a lit­tle rou­tine knee surgery that was sup­posed to mean I could go home the same day as the op­er­a­tion, but when I woke up it hadn’t gone very well and I was in a full leg cast. Adam had to fly back over to Aus­tralia to col­lect me and the kids, be­cause I couldn’t even pick them up.

We rented this house with­out even see­ing it – no pho­tos, noth­ing. We re­ally wanted to live in West­mere and wanted to get Har­lem into the lo­cal school here, it’s just up the hill from us. Taika is at day­care ev­ery day ex­cept Wed­nes­days – that’s our day to­gether.

We all eat din­ner to­gether and the kids have to eat what we eat. On a Sun­day night I try to cook a roast, and a whole heap of veg­eta­bles that I can use dur­ing the week. Adam and I are both very healthy, but it’s still im­por­tant to us that our kids be kids. Har­lem is a child and if he sees all his friends eat­ing ice­cream on a Fri­day then I’ll ob­vi­ously let him have one too. It’s about what you do 90 per cent of the time, not 10 per cent of the time, and he’s 7 now so I want him to be mak­ing his own food choices too.

At home we don’t keep any­thing un­healthy in the cup­boards, but at the end of the day he’s still a kid. Last Sun­day, Adam was work­ing and it was just us three, so we got Uber Eats smooth­ies for break­fast. The kids love them, and some­times I’ll pour them into ice­block moulds with pro­bi­otics and freeze them. That way the kids can eat an ice­block for break­fast and they don’t even re­alise it’s healthy. I don’t know if I could get them to eat a re­ally vegetable-y one yet, a green smoothie is prob­a­bly push­ing it.

Sun­day used to be Adam and my day to­gether. If Adam’s away it can be hard to stay in touch, with the time dif­fer­ence, but we try to Face­time as much as we can. If he is home, we’ll have break­fast to­gether and then he’ll of­ten take the kids to the park to give me a break, so that I can have some time for my­self. We prob­a­bly do need to spend more time to­gether but it’s so hard to fit it in when the weeks just roll by.

We’re a lit­tle unit and we’ve learnt to rely on each other. Here in New Zealand it’s just me, Adam and the kids. In Bris­bane we had all our fam­ily and friends, so if we did want to do some­thing as a cou­ple we could ask some­one to look af­ter the boys, but we’re mak­ing it work.

On Sun­day morn­ings we try not to get up straight away. Ev­ery other day I’m just “go go go” from 7am. I go to bed by 8pm on a Sun­day night be­cause I can’t stand be­ing tired on a Mon­day morn­ing.

You’ve re­ally got to drag me out­side to do any­thing. I’ve been here two months and haven’t done a sin­gle so­cial thing. I’ve only got a hand­ful of friends here in New Zealand, but I’m quite OK be­ing by my­self. It’s not that I’m in­tro­verted, I just love hav­ing an early night, be­cause it’s so im­por­tant to me to be very

“Some­times I’ll pour smooth­ies into ice­block moulds and freeze them. That way the kids can eat an ice­block for break­fast.”

pro­duc­tive dur­ing the day. I don’t like my rou­tine be­ing messed up. Read­ing is my time for my­self. In the af­ter­noon I put a movie on for the kids and I read. I love mem­oirs and bi­ogra­phies, and lots of health books. I have a li­brary full of those be­cause they give me ideas for recipes and for my work. I love go­ing to bed on a Sun­day know­ing every­thing on my list is ticked off. On a Sun­day, ev­ery lit­tle thing in my house needs to be or­gan­ised for the week. Ev­ery Sun­day morn­ing we go to the h Grey G Lynn L mar­kets, k that’s where we buy all our fresh pro­duce for the week. I make all the kids lunches for the week on a Sun­day and clean the en­tire house.

Jess Blair moved to New Zealand in Jan­uary with her sons Harlen and Taika (pic­tured) and hus­band Adam (be­low right).

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.