Bowlers gain gold star sta­tus

Taranaki Daily News - - News - Grant Has­sall

West End’s Jor­dan Linn and Steve Walker be­came the lat­est bowlers to at­tain gold star sta­tus, for win­ning five Taranaki ti­tles, when they claimed the men’s cen­tre fours at Ha¯wera Park on Satur­day.

In con­junc­tion with Dave Wil­son and skip Craig De Faria, the West En­ders took the hon­ours 19-14 over a Tower team headed by Bruce Phillips in the fi­nal.

Linn and Walker cre­ated his­tory with the win, be­com­ing the first play­ers to achieve their gold stars en­tirely to­gether, hav­ing also won all their ti­tles in the same teams. Pre­vi­ously, the duo won the cham­pion-of-cham­pi­ons pairs (2014), the cen­tre fours (2015) and the cham­pion-ofcham­pi­ons fours (2017) – both with Wil­son and De Faria – plus the Christ­mas pairs last De­cem­ber.

But halfway through the fi­nal of the South Taranaki Club­spon­sored event, it ap­peared that Linn and Walker would have to wait an­other day for their mo­ment of glory.

Phillips and his team of Mark Kuk­lin­ski, John Roberts and Scott Roberts held the up­per hand

9-5 af­ter nine of the 18 ends. But counts of four on both the

10th and 15th ends, the lat­ter af­ter two ac­cu­rate drives from De Faria, gave the West End side the ad­van­tage they needed in the blus­tery, cool con­di­tions.

In the semi­fi­nals, De Faria ran away 18-5 over Opunake’s Bob Com­mane, Kevin Ratahi, Paddy Dee­gan and Rod­ney Woods, while Phillips ac­counted for Mike Wes­ley, Bill Fo­ley, Kelly Hill and Grayson McEl­downey (New Ply­mouth) 23-12.

Linn, Walker and De Faria have been named in the Re­vi­tal Fer­tilis­ers Taranaki se­nior men’s rep­re­sen­ta­tive side for the Arnott Shield fix­ture in Wan­ganui on Novem­ber 17.

The 10-man squad, the first picked by new se­lec­tors Rus­sell Hardy and Al­lan Bat­ley, in­cludes two new faces at this level – Par­itutu’s Ai­dan Zit­ter­steijn and Tower’s Bren­dan An­der­son. Both new­com­ers will lead in pairs – An­der­son for Gerry O’Sul­li­van and Zit­ter­steijn for Walker. The sin­gles spots will be han­dled by Dean El­gar and De Faria. Dar­ren Goodin skips a four of Linn, Adam Collins and Scott Roberts.

Mean­while, women’s se­lec­tor Vickie Kelly’s side to com­pete against Wan­ganui, Manawatu and Wairarapa, also in Wan­ganui on Novem­ber 17, con­tains just two changes from the side that was beaten by Kapiti last month. With Rhonda Adams play­ing in Aus­tralia, Ann Dug­gan will lead a pair for Ma­ree Gadsby. The other ad­di­tion is Chris Com­mane, who will han­dle the sec­ond solo spot, along­side Sue Win­ter. The sec­ond pair of Sue Ed­wards and Shar Healey, and the four of Val McEl­downey, Bev Robin­son, Su­san Cot­tam and Cathy An­drews, re­main un­changed.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.