YOUR LO­CAL NEWS

Taupo Times - - FRONT PAGE - Daniel Hutchin­son

As you can see from our page 1 story, quite a few ru­ral res­i­dents have their hack­les up over a big in­crease in dog regis­tra­tion fees.

We are not talk­ing about work­ing dogs here - the kind that muster the sheep and still en­joy a big dis­count on the rego’.

We are talk­ing about dogs liv­ing a utopian ex­is­tence in the coun­try - pre­sum­ably the dogs that your par­ents said went to ‘‘live on a farm’’.

In the past these dogs, or at least their own­ers, have en­joyed sub­stan­tially lower fees so to sud­denly have a 340% in­crease is a big deal.

Add to that, is the fact that ru­ral dog own­ers tend to have more than just one pooch knock­ing around the place, so the bill soon mounts up.

I’m not sure of the stat’s on how many ru­ral dogs get picked up by dog con­trol com­pared with city dogs but I’m guess­ing it is far fewer on av­er­age.

Of course, if you are a re­spon­si­ble dog owner in town, you prob­a­bly don’t want to be pay­ing the full whack ei­ther to sub­sidise the bad dogs.

At the end of the day, some­one has to pay, but there just might have been a gen­tler way of go­ing about it. Gen­eral in­quiries: 07 378 9060, Editor: Daniel Hutchin­son, 027 809 6854, daniel.hutchin­son@stuff.co.nz, News: Steph Rangi, 027 204 2914, steph.rangi@stuff.co.nz, Robert Steven, 027 204 2904, robert.steven@stuff.co.nz, Tamara Thorn, 027 564 7168, tamara.thorn@stuff.co.nz Se­nior Sales: Graeme Golds­brough, 027 204 2906, graeme.golds­brough@stuff.co.nz, Clas­si­fied ad’s: Lynne Webb 07 378 9060, lynne.webb@stuff.co.nz, Postal: PO Box 205, Taupo. De­liv­er­ies: Dave McEwen 07 378 9060, cir­cu­la­tion@waika­to­times.co.nz, fixmy­de­liv­ery.co.nz

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.