Davies, Gooch carry TA Ma¯ori Golf flag

Te Awamutu Courier - - News -

A field of 65 play­ers from through­out Auck­land, Bay of Plenty, Waikato and King Coun­try teed off in the an­nual Tainui Ma¯ori Open tour­na­ment at Te Awa­mutu Golf Club.

The two ma­jor tro­phies for over­all best men’s and women’s nett were taken out by host club play­ers Ray Davies and Sylvia Gooch with rounds of 64 and 69 re­spec­tively.

Davies re­tained the Ha­hau Toa Tane Tro­phy he won as over­all men’s nett win­ner in 2017.

The women’s di­vi­sion win­ners were Gooch with 83 gross, in­clud­ing a two, Alma Good­win with 73 nett, and Hinemoa Po­hatu and Judee Watene each with 31 stable­ford.

Men’s gross win­ners were, di­vi­sion 1, Watty Stan­ley 72; di­vi­sion 2, Jor­dan Rangi­hika 74; di­vi­sion 3, Ray Davies 85.

Nett win­ners were (di­vi­sion 1) Edward Kay 70; (di­vi­sion 2) Howard Wyn­yard 66; (di­vi­sion 3) Dave Heta/Roy Green­halgh 71.

Stable­ford vic­tors were (di­vi­sion 1) Bruce Blair/Steve Emile 34; (di­vi­sion 2) Max Palamo 35; (di­vi­sion 3) Mick Henderson/Ray Erik­sen 33.

On the club scene, open mid­week tour­na­ment win­ners were Craig Thomas with 82 gross, Ray Davies 40 stable­ford, John Hill, Sylvia Gooch 36. The only two went to Craig Thomas.

Barbara O’Re­gan won the senior women’s club day scram­ble, fin­ish­ing all square. The in­ter­me­di­ate win­ner was Elaine Trout­beck with 2-up, from Janette King 1-up and Alma Good­win -2. Twos were scored by An­gela Thom­son and Barbara O’Re­gan.

The nine hole di­vi­sion putting scram­ble win­ner was Ann Dobson with 17 putts, from Robin Wat­son, San­dra White with 17.

The club’s vet­er­ans hosted mem­bers of the Waikato Ea­gles Golf­ing So­ci­ety last Thurs­day.

It was the vis­i­tors who pre­vailed once again, com­fort­ably win­ning the Pin­fold Tray at stake an­nu­ally be­tween th­ese two groups of golfers.

No fewer than six play­ers dead­heated for scram­ble hon­ours with 40 stable­ford, Ken Perry (E), John Staples, Char­lie Coles (E), Barry Ross, Stu­art Reid (E), Bruce Sex­ton (E).

Hot on their heels were Allen Roun­th­waite and Ray Davies with 39 and An­thony Edgar (E), Tony Lewis (E) with 38.

Lead­ing ladies on Satur­day were Sylvia Gooch with 42 stable­ford, Alma Good­win 36.

Win­ners on Sun­day were Derek Hill with 80 gross, Todd Ha­gan 70 nett, Gor­don Kirkham, Noel Evans, Percy Kapa 37 stable­ford.

Nett ea­gles were scored by Hill, Ha­gan and Steve Dewet.

Whakaahua / Colin Thorsen

Sylvia Gooch, win­ner of the over­all women’s nett tro­phy in the Tainui Ma¯ ori Open tour­na­ment.

Whakaahua / Courier file

Ray Davies with the Te Awa­mutu Ma¯ori Golf Ha­hau Toa Tane Tro­phy he claimed as men’s over­all nett win­ner.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.