COURSE LAN­GUAGE

The Cut - - 3RD TEE -

“There’s noth­ing like the feel­ing of con­tact­ing a golf ball in the mid­dle of the club­face, and the sound of it, and just to see it dis­ap­pear­ing into the blue sky.” Bob Charles on why at al­most 80 years of age he still loves to play golf.

“Butch Har­mon is one of the great teach­ers in the history of the game and I be­lieve he de­serves to be in the World Golf Hall of Fame. I’ve learned a great deal from him in our eight years to­gether. It’s just that at the mo­ment I need to hear new ideas from a dif­fer­ent per­spec­tive.” Phil Mick­el­son ends his work­ing re­la­tion­ship with his long-time coach Butch Har­mon.

“We talked for about two hours. I com­pletely agreed that some­times you need to hear things a dif­fer­ent way, get a dif­fer­ent per­spec­tive on things. He’s been frus­trated the last two years. I thought it was a good idea that he would do this. He needs to hear things dif­fer­ently that maybe get him re­ju­ve­nated and get him back to what we all know he can be.” Butch Har­mon’s take on the breakup.

“It wasn’t cold. Grow­ing up in Scot­land, we were cold pretty much our en­tire lives. So go­ing to a school where the sun shines was my num­ber one pri­or­ity.” WGC-HSBC Cham­pi­onship win­ner Rus­sell Knox ex­plains why he chose to at­tend a univer­sity in the US.

The R&A and the United States Golf As­so­ci­a­tion (USGA) have jointly pub­lished the Rules of Golf that take ef­fect on Jan­uary 1, 2016. The new rules book is the cul­mi­na­tion of the nor­mal four-year re­view cy­cle and is a col­lab­o­ra­tive work by the R&A and the USGA that ap­plies world­wide to all golfers.

Among the most sig­nif­i­cant of the changes in the 2016 edi­tion are the fol­low­ing:

Rule 18-2b (Ball Mov­ing af­ter Ad­dress) has been with­drawn. This means that if a ball at rest moves af­ter the player ad­dresses it, the player is no longer au­to­mat­i­cally deemed to have caused the ball to move. A one-stroke penalty un­der Rule 18-2 will be ap­plied only when the facts show that the player has caused the ball to move.

A new ex­cep­tion has been in­tro­duced to Rule 6-6d (Wrong Score for Hole) to pro­vide that a player is not dis­qual­i­fied for re­turn­ing a lower score for a hole than ac­tu­ally taken as a re­sult of fail­ing to in­clude penalty strokes that the player did not know were in­curred be­fore re­turn­ing the score­card. In­stead, the player in­curs the penalty un­der the rule that was breached and must add an ad­di­tional penalty of two strokes for the score­card er­ror. In all other cases in which a player re­turns a score for any hole lower than ac­tu­ally taken, the penalty will con­tinue to be dis­qual­i­fi­ca­tion. The penalty for a player’s first breach of Rule 14-3 (Ar­ti­fi­cial De­vices, Un­usual Equip­ment and Ab­nor­mal Use of Equip­ment) dur­ing the round has been re­duced from dis­qual­i­fi­ca­tion to loss of hole in match­play or two strokes in stroke­play. The penalty for any sub­se­quent breach of Rule 14-3 will con­tinue to be dis­qual­i­fi­ca­tion. As an­nounced in May 2013, the new Rule 14-1b (An­chor­ing the Club) pro­hibits an­chor­ing the club ei­ther ‘di­rectly’ or by use of an ‘an­chor point’ in making a stroke. The penalty is loss of hole in match­play or two strokes in stroke­play.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.