Stars left on the side­lines

Halberg Awards judges leave out world champs, Olympic medal­lists and player of year

The New Zealand Herald - - SPORT -

World cham­pi­ons, Olympic Games medal­lists and an in­ter­na­tional player of the year have missed out on be­ing fi­nal­ists for the Halberg Awards.

There's no room for Rio pole vault bronze medal sen­sa­tion El­iza McCart­ney, shoot­ing sil­ver medal win­ner Natalie Rooney, world record hold­ers the All Blacks, Su­per­cars win­ner Shane van Gis­ber­gen, world cham­pion lawn bowler Shan­non McIlroy, World Rugby's player of the year Beau­den Bar­rett, Kiwi NBA sen­sa­tion Steven Adams and World Rally Cham­pi­onship Ar­gentina event win­ner Hay­den Pad­don.

Pad­don, van Gis­ber­gen, McIlroy, Bar­rett and Adams were pipped as fi­nal­ists in a strong men’s cat­e­gory by Olympic sin­gle sculls row­ing cham­pion Mahe Drys­dale, WBO world heavy­weight box­ing cham­pion Joseph Parker and Rio bronze medal­lists, shot put­ter Tom Walsh and 1500m run­ner Nick Willis.

World No 1 golfer Ly­dia Ko is a fi­nal­ist again for the strong­ly­con­tested fe­male cat­e­gory. Ko, who won two ma­jors and an Olympic sil­ver in 2016, is up against dou­ble Olympic medal­list ca­noeist Lisa Car­ring­ton and sil­ver medal­lists ca­noeist Luuka Jones and shot put­ter Dame Va­lerie Adams.

The Dis­abled Sportsper­son of the Year award in­cludes 2015 re­cip­i­ent Sophie Pas­coe.

The para-swim­mer, who won three golds and two sil­vers at the Par­a­lympics is up against fel­low gold medal­lists Anna Grimaldi, Mary Fisher and Liam Malone, who won dou­ble gold and a sil­ver in Rio.

Four teams who won medals in Rio are up for the Team of the Year cat­e­gory where there was no room for the All Blacks who went un­beaten for a world record 18 matches last sea­son be­fore be­ing up­set for the first time by Ire­land in Chicago. The fi­nal­ists in­clude two Olympic cham­pion crews; the men's 49er (Peter Burl­ing and Blair Tuke) and row­ing pair (Hamish Bond and Eric Mur­ray) along with sil­ver medal­lists; the team sprint (Ed­die Dawkins, Ethan Mitchell and Sam Web­ster) and the 470 crew (Jo Aleh and Polly Powrie).

The Coach of the Year Award in­cludes the 2015 win­ner — All Blacks coach and World Rugby coach of the year Steve Hansen. Hansen is up against Hamish Will­cox, who led the men's 49er crew to Olympic suc­cess in Rio, Gor­don Walker, who guided Car­ring­ton to dou­ble Rio gold, and Jeremy McColl, who di­rected McCart­ney to her bronze medal.

The Halberg Awards judges se­lected the short­list from 87 nom­i­na­tions for the six cat­e­gories. The win­ners will be named in Auck­land on Fe­bru­ary 9.

Pic­ture / Michael Craig

Peter Burl­ing and Blair Tuke (yacht­ing) and Lisa Car­ring­ton (ca­noe­ing) are Halberg Awards fi­nal­ists.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.