Judg­ing panel con­firmed for 2016 Sigma D-Photo Am­a­teur Photographer of the Year

The Photographer's Mail - - News -

The an­nual Sigma D-Photo Am­a­teur Photographer of the Year com­pe­ti­tion, pre­sented by our sis­ter pub­li­ca­tion D-Photo, has closed for en­tries, and the judg­ing is now un­der way. Con­firmed to be on the judg­ing panel this year are D-Photo and The Photographer’s Mail columnists Ma­reea Ve­gas, Peter Bush, Hans We­ich­sel­baum, Kaye Davis, and Brett Stan­ley. Also join­ing the judg­ing panel this year are NZIPP rep­re­sen­ta­tive Melissa Waite, PSNZ rep­re­sen­ta­tive Shona Keb­ble, and AIPA rep­re­sen­ta­tive Garth Badger.

The 2016 com­pe­ti­tion fea­tured two brand-new cat­e­gories — Aerial, spon­sored by DJI Drones, and Macro, spon­sored by Tam­ron Lenses — and also fea­tured the much-loved cat­e­gories of Cre­ative, spon­sored by White Stu­dios; Ju­nior, spon­sored by the Universal Col­lege of Learn­ing ( UCOL); Land­scape, spon­sored by Pro­gear; Mono­chrome, spon­sored by Il­ford Paper; Na­ture, spon­sored by Van­guard; Peo­ple, spon­sored by Pro­foto; and Travel, spon­sored by Nikon. There was also a Read­ers’ Choice, in which the public could vote for their favourite im­ages within each cat­e­gory, which the pho­to­graph — from all the cat­e­gories — that has re­ceived the most votes will win.

The prize pool for this year’s com­pe­ti­tion hit a to­tal of more than $16K, with the over­all win­ner to re­ceive a Sigma lens kit worth up to $4K. You can find the full list of prizes for each cat­e­gory out­lined at dphoto.co.nz.

To find out the win­ners of each cat­e­gory of the 2016 com­pe­ti­tion, you’ll need to pick up D-Photo Is­sue No. 73 when it ap­pears in stores from July 11. For fur­ther in­for­ma­tion on the com­pe­ti­tion, or to see the gallery of en­tries, visit dphoto.co.nz/apoty2016.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.