Coun­try’s top houses

The Tribune (NZ) - - FRONT PAGE -

Three Manawatu build­ing firms were highly suc­cess­ful in the na­tional Reg­is­tered Mas­ter­builders 2015 House of the Year when all three won their cat­e­gories.

Arnott and Arnott Builders won the James Hardie New Homes $500,000 to $650,000 cat­e­gory with a Ron­gotea home.

Judges praised the home for its gov­ern­ing de­sign prin­ci­ples, en­ergy ef­fi­ciency, the flex­i­ble use of space and how well it suited its stun­ning lo­ca­tion.

In the Manawatu/Whanganui re­gional com­pe­ti­tion the home was the Supreme Award for House of the Year, won a Gold Award and was Cat­e­gory win­ner.

Al­ter­ation Spe­cial­ists won the Mitre 10 Ren­o­va­tions $250,000 to $500,000 with a com­pre­hen­sive ren­o­va­tion of a 1930s bun­ga­low. It added a large en­ter­tain­ment space, an up­dated kitchen and ded­i­cated din­ing space. A large deck was built over­look­ing a newly in­stalled swim­ming pool.

In the re­gional com­pe­ti­tion the project earned Al­ter­ation Spe­cial­ists the Supreme Award for Ren­o­va­tion of the Year.

Moss­man Con­struc­tion won the Master­build Ser­vices Ren­o­va­tions up to $250,000 for its work on a five-bed­room Hokowhitu home. In the re­gional awards Moss­man Con­struc­tion won both the Gold Award and the Cat­e­gory Award for its work on this English-style coun­try home.

In the re­gional com­pe­ti­tion new homes are judged on work­man­ship which in­cludes fin­ish­ing, struc­ture, ex­ter­nal cladding and roof­ing, as well as the se­lec­tion, in­stal­la­tion, in­no­va­tion and suit­abil­ity of prod­ucts. The sec­ond is de­sign, func­tion­al­ity and style, with points awarded for how the build fits the site, mar­ketabil­ity, ac­cess, en­trance, aes­thetic ap­peal, and fu­ture proof­ing.

Ren­o­va­tions are judged against the qual­ity of work­man­ship and sev­eral other cri­te­ria, in­clud­ing the re­ten­tion or cre­ation of char­ac­ter, in­te­gra­tion of the ren­o­va­tion/ al­ter­ation to the ex­ist­ing home; and the level of fu­ture proof­ing.

Each cat­e­gory is judged by a pair of judges (one builder and one ar­chi­tect) who rate each property against a score­card with a max­i­mum of 2000 points. Awards are given de­pend­ing on the thresh­old of points achieved: a gold award-win­ning property is ex­cep­tional, hav­ing achieved 1800 (90 per cent) or more of the points avail­able. A sil­ver award-win­ning property is ex­cel­lent, hav­ing achieved at least 1650 (82 per cent) of the points avail­able. A bronze award-win­ning property is very good, hav­ing achieved a min­i­mum of 1500 (75 per cent) of the points avail­able. There is no limit to the num­ber of Gold, Sil­ver and Bronze Awards given in each cat­e­gory.

The best of the best are pit­ted against each other in the na­tional com­pe­ti­tion.

Each year a max­i­mum of 100 res­i­den­tial en­tries from the re­gional com­pe­ti­tion re­ceive Gold Re­serve sta­tus.

All of the Gold Award re­sults through­out the coun­try are pooled. The top three Gold Award win­ners from each cat­e­gory are au­to­mat­i­cally se­lected. Should a cat­e­gory have fewer than three Gold Awards, then only th­ese will go through.

The re­main­ing places (to make up to 100) are given to the re­main­ing high­est scor­ing prop­er­ties re­gard­less of their cat­e­gory.

All Na­tional Gold Re­serve fi­nal­ists are then judged by a new na­tional judg­ing panel to find one win­ner in each cat­e­gory.

Manawatu House of the Year cat­e­gory win­ners, from left, Durham Moss­man, Justin Green, and Craig and De­nis Arnott.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.