Fi­nal ELEC­TION RE­SULTS con­firmed

The Tribune (NZ) - - SAVOUR -

Thank you to all those res­i­dents who’ve had their say in the re­cent lo­cal elec­tions by cast­ing their votes. Fi­nal re­sults have now been con­firmed with Grant Smith re-elected as the city’s Mayor with 18773 votes, 17749 votes ahead of ri­val Ross Bar­ber. There will also be four new faces around the Coun­cil ta­ble. The four new Coun­cil­lors are Brent Bar­rett with 1808 votes, Lorna John­son with 1322 votes, Karen Nay­lor with 1287 votes, and Gabrielle Bundy-Cooke with 1284 votes. The nine re­elected coun­cil­lors are Lew Findlay (2202 votes), Tangi Utikere (1681 votes), Adrian Broad (1360 votes), Aleisha Ruther­ford (1307 votes), Vaughan Den­ni­son (1282 votes), Dun­can McCann (1277 votes), Rachel Bowen (1283 votes), Leonie Hapeta (1283 votes), Jim Jef­feries (1270 votes), Su­san Baty (1288 votes), and Bruno Pe­tre­nas (1236 votes). The suc­cess­ful can­di­dates took up their po­si­tions on Sun­day 16 Oc­to­ber and will be of­fi­cially sworn in on Wed­nes­day 26 Oc­to­ber in the Coun­cil Cham­bers. In the Novem­ber is­sue of the Square Cir­cu­lar we will have an up­dated list of all the Coun­cil­lors and their con­tact de­tails. To­tal voter turnout was ap­prox­i­mately 39 per cent, a slight in­crease on the 2013 elec­tion.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.