Best of the best


Sweeney Todd, the Abbey Mu­si­cal The­atre’s March pro­duc­tion, has topped Manawatu’s Globe The­atre Awards with eight nom­i­na­tions.

Twenty-six shows by 13 the­atre groups were con­sid­ered for the re­gion’s am­a­teur the­atre awards.

Oth­ers with a good num­ber of nom­i­na­tions across 13 cat­e­gories in­cluded Levin Per­form­ing Arts’ Novem­ber pro­duc­tion of Grease, Manawatu The­atre’s The Glass Menagerie, and AMT’s Hair.

From mu­si­cal the­atre to avant garde ensem­ble pro­duc­tions, there was plenty of tal­ent on dis­play, ac­cord­ing to as­sess­ment panel con­venor, Sheri­dan Hickey, who praised the num­ber of high­qual­ity pro­duc­tions.

Best di­rec­tor nom­i­na­tions went to Kelly Har­ris for Sum­mer Shake­speare’s The Merry Wives of Windsor, Scott An­drew for Sweeney Todd, Peter Do­herty for Feild­ing Lit­tle The­atre Play­ers’ Last of the Sum­mer Wine, Damian Thorne for Hair and Ian Har­man for The Glass Menagerie.

Mu­si­cal di­rec­tion nom­i­na­tions went to Roger Buchanan for Hair, Wendy Rev­ell for the Tai­hape Drama Group’s pro­duc­tion of Dusty, Colin Tay­lor for Levin Per­form­ing Arts’ Oliver! and Adam Praat for Grease.

Best fe­male ac­tor nom­i­na­tions went to Joanne Sale as Karen in Manawatu The­atre’s Quilt and for Griz­abella in Abbey Mu­si­cal The­atre’s Cats, Tracey-Lynne Cody as Mrs Lovatt in Sweeney Todd, Becks Palmer as Burger in Hair, Trudy Pear­son as Amanda in The Glass Menagerie, and Amy Hunt as Dusty in AMT’s Dusty.

Nom­i­na­tions for best male per- for­mer went to Glen Nes­bit as Sweeney in Sweeney Todd, Michael Doody as Munkus­trap in Cats, Tony Vin­cent as Compo in Last of the Sum­mer Wine, Sam Gor­don as Tom in The Glass Menagerie, and Asaria Saili as Danny Zuko in Grease.

Nom­i­nated in sup­port­ing roles were Mady Hor­man, Read Wheeler and Sam Gor­don in Sweeney Todd; Read Wheeler in AMT’s Dusty; Sarah Thom­sen in Tai­hape’s Dusty; Nick Ross, Danielle McDon­ald and Grant Miller in Pahiatua Reper­tory’s Beauty and The Beast; Ais­ling Bo­han and Bernard O’Brien in Grease; Gael Hain­ing Ede in Silly Cow; Brie Shaw in The Glass Menagerie; and Nathan Webb in Fox­ton Lit­tle The­atre’s The Old Peo­ple Are Re­volt­ing.

The win­ners will be an­nounced dur­ing an awards cer­e­mony at the Globe The­atre on Fri­day, Fe­bru­ary 24.


Glen Nes­bit as bar­ber Sweeney Todd with Trent Ped­ley in the chair.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.