Wa­makko’s com­mis­sion­ers stage come­back in Sokoto

Daily Trust - - INSIDE POLITICS - From Rakiya A. Muham­mad, Sokoto

In Sokoto, many com­mis­sion­ers and oth­ers who served un­der the former ad­min­is­tra­tion of Sen­a­tor Aliyu Wa­makko were among those nom­i­nated by Gover­nor Aminu Tam­buwal.

Al­ready, all 23 com­mis­sioner nom­i­nees were con­firmed dur­ing the week by the state House of As­sem­bly.

They in­clude Deputy Gover­nor Ahmed Aliyu Ab­dul­lahi Maig­wandu, Arzika Tureta, Musa Abubakar, Bello Goronyo, Bello Gwiwa, Umaru Nag­wari, Kulu Ab­dul­lahi, Tukur Al­kali, Sadiq Achida, Aminu Bello and Jabbi Kil­gori.

The re­main­ing in­clude Sa­habi Gada, Saidu Umar, Ab­dulka­dir Jeli, Si­rajo Gatawa, Mani Maishinko, Muham­madu Si­fawa, Sule­man Us­man, Nasiru Zarum­mai, Bala Kokani, Manir Dan’iya and Dr. Shehu Kakale.

The only fe­male nom­i­nee, Ha­jiya Kulu Ab­dul­lahi is an ed­u­ca­tion­ist.

Gover­nor Tam­buwal had said in the let­ter to the State As­sem­bly that the nom­i­nees were prod­ucts of con­sul­ta­tions.

“The nom­i­nees were se­lected af­ter wide con­sul­ta­tions within the sphere of our so­ci­ety and in con­form­ity with Sec­tion 14 (4) of the Con­sti­tu­tion, they are per­sons of proven in­tegrity with good track record in their var­i­ous vo­ca­tions,” he stated.

But many de­scribed the com­po­si­tion of com­mis­sion­ers des­ig­nate as ‘old wine in new bot­tle’.

“I see no rea­son why the same peo­ple who had served for years be­fore should be re­cy­cled. Some were there as com­mis­sion­ers through­out the eight years of Wa­makko’s ad­min­is­tra­tion, that means by the end of Tam­buwal’s first ten­ure ,they would have spent 12 solid years as com­mis­sion­ers,” a res­i­dent of the state, Ha­jiya Rabiat Adamu, noted.

Also com­ment­ing, sec­re­tary of the PDP in Sokoto, Al­haji Kabir Aliyu, said, “as far as I am con­cerned there is no change for us in Sokoto, the change agenda pre­vail­ing in the na­tion, is not in Sokoto.

Gov. Aminu Waziri Tam­buwal

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Nigeria

© PressReader. All rights reserved.