Daily Trust in­vites nom­i­na­tion for African of the Year

Daily Trust - - FRONT PAGE -

Î P3

The man­age­ment of Me­dia Trust Lim­ited, pub­lish­ers of DAILY TRUST, has called for nom­i­na­tion of ex­em­plary per­son­al­i­ties for “African of the Year” award, 2016.

In a state­ment at the week­end, the As­so­ciate Di­rec­tor of DAILY TRUST, Aliu Akoshile, said ideal nom­i­nees should be ordinary Africans who have made ex­tra-ordinary pos­i­tive con­tri­bu­tions to hu­man­ity in any part of the con­ti­nent.

He dis­closed that the award con­sists of three com­po­nents namely: a per­ma­nent plaque, a cer­tifi­cate of merit and cash re­ward in aid of the awardee’s char­ity pro­ject.

He said a valid en­try is for works, events or ac­tiv­i­ties un­der­taken by the nom­i­nee be­tween Oc­to­ber 1, 2015 and Septem­ber 30, 2016 adding that nom­i­na­tions are to be made on­line at award. dai­lytrust.com.ng

Mr. Akoshile said the even­tual win­ner would be se­lected by a seven-mem­ber prize com­mit­tee chaired by Dr. Salim Ahmed Salim, a for­mer Prime Min­is­ter of Tan­za­nia and ex-scribe of the Or­ga­ni­za­tion of African Unity (now African Union).

Other mem­bers of the com­mit­tee who rep­re­sent Africa’s re­gional blocs are: Am­bas­sador Mona Omar (North Africa), Mr. Amadou Mahtar Ba (West Africa), Ms. Gwen Lis­ter (South­ern Africa), Mr. Pas­cal Kam­bale (Cen­tral Africa) and Pro­fes­sor Sylvia Ta­male (East Africa). The Chair­man of the Board of DAILY TRUST, Mr. Kabiru Yusuf, rep­re­sents the award pro­mot­ers.

Now in its 8th edi­tion, the African of the Year award was in­au­gu­rated in 2008 by DAILY TRUST in ful­fil­ment of the news­pa­per’s com­mit­ment to African unity and sus­tain­able de­vel­op­ment across the con­ti­nent.

With this an­nual award the news­pa­per hopes to en­trench the culture of self­less­ness among Africans with the aim of cre­at­ing a pool of role­mod­els for oth­ers to em­u­late.

The maiden award was pre­sented to a Con­golese gy­nae­col­o­gist, Dr. De­nis Muk­wege, in recog­ni­tion of his ex­em­plary hu­man­i­tar­ian of­fer of free re­con­struc­tive surgery for vic­tims of rape in the war-torn Demo­cratic Repub­lic of Congo, DRC.

The sub­se­quent awards have been won by the late Dr. Ta­judeen Ab­dul­ra­heem (2009), Mr. Danny Jor­dan (2010), Judge Mrs. Fa­ti­mata Baz­eye (2011), Mr. Thabo Mbeki (2012) and Dr. Don­ald Kaberuka (2013). The 2014 award was skipped due to the preva­lence of Ebola dis­ease in parts of Africa while Mr. Gre­goire Ahong­bonon emerged win­ner of the 2015 award.

Some of the dis­tin­guished per­son­al­i­ties who had served on the prize com­mit­tee chaired by Dr. Salim are: Prof. Ab­doulaye Bathily, Prof. Tan­deka Nki­wane, Ms. Muthoni Wanyeki, Prof. Okello Oculi, Dr. Oba­diah Mailafia, Prof. Kwame Karikari, and the late Dr. Ta­judeen Ab­dul­ra­heem.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Nigeria

© PressReader. All rights reserved.