Pak boot­ers will ap­pear in UAE's WC U17 Qual­i­fier

The Financial Daily - - MARKET SUMMARY -

LA­HORE: Pak­istan will make at­tempt to earn slot in UAE's 15th World U17 Cup 2013 when they will face Asian teams in 15th AFC U16 Cham­pi­onship this year. The play­ers born on or af­ter 1 Jan­uary 1996 will be el­i­gi­ble to play in the event, slated to run from 10-25 Septem­ber 2011. North Korea will de­fend ti­tle in Asian Youth beat­ing Uzbek­istan 2-0 in last edi­tion fi­nal on 7 Novem­ber 2010 at Pakhtakor Sta­dium, Tashkent

Pak­istan Foot­ball Fed­er­a­tion (PFF)'s Pres­i­dent Makhdoom Syed Faisal Saleh Hayat has asked Op­er­a­tion Wing to call as many teams as they could from 8th Na­tional U16 Cham­pi­onship (1-15 May) to get the abun­dance of tal­ented play­ers of re­quired age-limit for com­ing 15th AFC U16 Cham­pi­onship.

The AFC U16 Cham­pi­onship has been the launch­ing pad for many of foot­ball' present stars in­clud­ing Muham­mad Ahmed, Ab­bas Ali, Ah­san Ul­lah, Fa­had Ul­lah Khan who joined Na­tional team af­ter play­ing in 2005 edi­tion. The 2007 edi­tion pro­duced play­ers like Faisal Iqbal, Muham­mad Adil, Saqib Hanif while KPT's first choice keeper Ehsan Ul­lah for PPFL is prod­uct of 2009 edi­tion.

The AFC U16 show - which is held ev­ery two years - also acts as a qual­i­fy­ing tour­na­ment for the FIFA U17 World Cup at which the Asia is given four berths. Founded as the FIFA U16 World Cham­pi­onship, later changed to the FIFAU17 World Cham­pi­onship and known by its cur­rent name since 2007, is the world cham­pi­onship for male play­ers un­der the age of 17 or­ga­nized by Fédéra­tion In­ter­na­tionale de Foot­ball As­so­ci­a­tion (FIFA). In the 13 tour­na­ments held so far, Brazil and Nige­ria are the most suc­cess­ful na­tions in the tour­na­ment's his­tory with three wins each. Ghana has won the tour­na­ment twice. Soviet Union, Saudi Ara­bia, France, Mex­ico, Switzer­land won the ti­tle once.

With the late in­clu­sion of Cam­bo­dia, to­tal 40 teams have en­tered the fray for 15th AFC U16 Cham­pi­onship and have been di­vided into two zones - West (22) and East (18).

The teams will be di­vided into seven groups of six and five teams each. West Zone will have two groups of six and two of five teams while East will have three groups of six teams each. Top two teams from each of the groups and third best team from West and East zones will qual­ify for the tour­na­ment proper.-Agen­cies

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Pakistan

© PressReader. All rights reserved.