Ten­dulkar, Se­hwag in ICC short­list for all-time great­est ODI team

The Pak Banker - - International -

MUM­BAI: In­dian bat­ting icon Sachin Ten­dulkar, along with Viren­der Se­hwag, to­day found a place in the list of play­ers nom­i­nated for an ICC on­line poll to pick the all-time great­est team as part of one­day cricket's 40th an­niver­sary cel­e­bra­tions.

The re­tired Sourav Gan­guly is also part of the list of open­ers, from which only two would make the fi­nal dream team. "To mark the 40th an­niver­sary of One-Day In­ter­na­tional cricket, the ICC's of­fi­cial web­site is ask­ing sup­port­ers from across the globe to se­lect their choice of the great­est ODI match and team of all-time," the ICC said in a state­ment.

Web­site www.icc-cricket.com is ask­ing sup­port­ers to se­lect a dream team from a short­list of 48 play­ers and pick their favourite game from a choice of 10 mem­o­rable matches.

Fans can se­lect dream team and favourite game till Jan­uary 2, with the choices set to be an­nounced on Jan­uary 5 to co­in­cide with the 40th an­niver­sary of the first-ever ODI match be­tween Aus­tralia and Eng­land.

"With the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 now less than two months away, ex­cite­ment and in­ter­est in the one-day for­mat of the game will cer­tainly in­ten­sify. We know that fans will en­joy hav­ing the chance to re­mem­ber some of the great games and great play­ers that have played in ODI cricket dur­ing the past 40 years," ICC Chief Ex­ec­u­tive Ha­roon Lor­gat said.

The Aus­tralian ODI team from 1971 will also be pre­sented to the crowd dur­ing the in­nings break of the first ODI match of the se­ries be­tween Aus­tralia and Eng­land at the MCG on Jan­uary 16.

In the nom­i­nees for the Great­est ODI team of all time, Ma­hen­dra Singh Dhoni is the lone In­dian in the list of wick­et­keep­ers.

How­ever, no In­dian has found a place in the list of mid­dle-or­der bats­men and fast bowlers, while the le­gendary Kapil Dev has found a men­tion in the all-rounders' nom­i­na­tion. Anil Kum­ble and Harb­ha­jan Singh have made the list of spin­ners short­listed for the dream team. -PB News

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Pakistan

© PressReader. All rights reserved.