PML-N’s Sheikh An­sar Aziz elected cap­i­tal’s first-ever mayor

The Pak Banker - - NATIONAL -

Polling for the cap­i­tal's first-ever mayor has con­cluded and PML-N's Sheikh An­sar Aziz has been de­clared the win­ner. PML-N's other nom­i­nees, Chaudhry Rif­fat Javed, Syed Zee­shan Naqvi and Azam Khan have also been elected as deputy may­ors of Is­lam­abad.

Ac­cord­ing to un­of­fi­cial re­sults, Aziz man­aged to se­cure 49 votes, while the op­pos­ing can­di­date from Pak­istan Tehreek-i-In­saf (PTI) se­cured 26 votes. Ear­lier to­day, elec­tions were held at the Con­ven­tion Cen­tre be­tween 9am and 5pm. Polling took place through a se­cret bal­lot, an Elec­tion Com­mis­sion spokesman said.

The rul­ing PML-N was slated to sweep the elec­tions and was in place to win all the seats as it holds 50 of the to­tal 77 votes of mem­bers of the Is­lam­abad Metropoli­tan Cor­po­ra­tion (IMC). PTI has 27 votes. The PML-N fielded Sheikh An­sar Aziz, a friend of Prime Min­is­ter Nawaz Sharif, for the seat of the mayor, while Chaudhry Rif­fat Javed, Syed Zee­shan Naqvi and Azam Khan are con­test­ing the seats for deputy mayor.

PTI, mean­while, had fielded Raja Khur­ram Nawaz as its may­oral can­di­date. Ali Awan, Fouzia Ar­shad and Raja Zulqar­nain were con- test­ing for the deputy mayor seats. All three PML-N can­di­dates for deputy mayor are from the cap­i­tal's ru­ral ar­eas, and made head­lines dur­ing the sub­mis­sion of nom­i­na­tion pa­pers due to wide­spread be­lief that they were cho­sen based on their con­nec­tions. PML-N and PTI ap­peared to be putting up a tight race dur­ing the first round of the lo­cal govern­ment (LG) elec­tions in De­cem­ber ? the first LG polls held in the fed­eral cap­i­tal since 1979. The last such ex­er­cise was held un­der mil­i­tary rule on a non-party ba­sis and was lim­ited to ru­ral ar­eas only.

Is­lam­abad, which now has a pop­u­la­tion of around two mil­lion, had been di­vided into 50 union coun­cils for the polls. Around 2,407 can­di­dates took part in the elec­tions, of which 972 were in­de­pen­dent can­di­dates, 506 be­longed to PML-N, 479 to PTI, 164 to Ja­maat-i-Is­lami and 81 to the PPP, ac­cord­ing to the Elec­tion Com­mis­sion of Pak­istan.

How­ever, PML-N came out far ahead of its com­peti­tors when it won over nearly all the in­de­pen­dents, and now has 32 UC chair­men, fol­lowed by PTI's 18. Th­ese chair­men are ex­of­fi­cio mem­bers of the IMC. PML-N also clinched 18 of the 27 re­served seats in IMC, which the re­main­ing nine go­ing to PTI.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Pakistan

© PressReader. All rights reserved.