Scott out­lasts Gar­cia

The Pak Banker - - MARKETS/SPORTS -

Adam Scott tapped in a 30inch par putt to win the Honda Clas­sic on Sun­day, and the smile was more re­lief than joy over end­ing the long­est drought of his ca­reer. A small mea­sure of sat­is­fac­tion might come from the si­lence he hopes will fol­low.

Yes, he still can win with a short put­ter. In his third tour­na­ment since a new rule that out­laws the an­chored stroke Scott used for a long put­ter the last five years, he made enough putts at PGA Na­tional for an even-par 70 to hold off Ser­gio Gar­cia and win for the first time since Colo­nial in May 2014.

"Prob­a­bly good for ev­ery­body who likes talk­ing about it, ab­so­lutely," Scott said. "And there­fore, good for me. Good for me be­cause maybe we don't have to go over it too much any­more. Again, it just re­as­sures me I'm on the right track with the things I'm do­ing on the greens, and I'm just go­ing to try and get bet­ter ev­ery week. And I think it's in a great spot at the mo­ment. "If I can get bet­ter and bet­ter, then I like what's to come."

Scott opened with a 10-foot birdie putt that set the tone, and he seized con­trol early on the back nine when Gar­cia missed a 3-foot par putt on the 11th hole, and Scott fol­lowed with a 9-iron out of a bunker to 2 feet for birdie and a two-shot lead.

Gar­cia made birdie on the fi­nal hole for a 71, forc­ing Scott to con­vert his short par putt. "He played re­ally, re­ally solid," Gar­cia said. "I played with him the last two days, and he looked awe­some. I know I can play bet­ter. That's the good thing. With­out feel­ing like I was swing­ing that great, I still man­aged to have a chance, so I'm happy with that." It was the first time Scott won with a short put­ter since the 2010 Sin­ga­pore Open. He switched to a long put­ter that he an­chored to his chest at the Match Play Cham­pi­onship and when he won the Masters in 2013, he was the fourth player in six ma­jors to use an an­chored putting stroke. It was out­lawed at the start of this year, and Scott had grown weary of talk­ing about it. Over­looked was that he had won 18 times world­wide with a short put­ter, in­clud­ing The Play­ers Cham­pi­onship and the Tour Cham­pi­onship.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Pakistan

© PressReader. All rights reserved.