Hontiveros steps down as bowling NSA chief

Bandera (Mindanao) - - NEWS -

THE chief architect of the Philippine Bowling Federation’s success will be leaving the country’s premier bowling organization in pristine condition.

PBF president Steve Hontiveros has stepped down at the peak of his game just a few months after a Filipino bowler made a name on the global stage.

“I have done my part in helping fix the (national) team and the organization,” said Hontiveros, a long-time bowling association president who again took the leadership two years ago after Philippine bowling declined in the international scene. “It’s time to step down and give way to a new leadership.”

During his recent term of office, Hontiveros saw the reemergence of Filipino bowlers with the help of bowling greats Paeng Nepomuceno, Bong Coo and Biboy Rivera as well as PBF chairman Sen. Tito Sotto, secretary-general Alex Lim and other stakeholders in the sport.

Krizziah Lyn Tabora won the women’s title in the 53rd QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup held in Hermosillo, Mexico last November, the country’s first world cup plum since Coo accomplished the feat in 1979.

Kenneth Chua captured the silver medal in the men’s singles of the 62-country Asian Indoor andMartial Arts Games in Ashgabat, Turkmenistan last year when the quartet of Liza Del Rosario, Alexis Sy, Lara Posadas and Tabora also got a silver in the women’s team of four.

“The team is now working very hard. We’re still far from our string of achievements before, but at least now we’re able to winmedals again,” said Hontiveros, who served as president of Federation Internationale des Quilleurs (FIQ) or World Bowling, the world governing body in the sport, in 2003-2007.

Hontiveros holds the rare distinction of becoming one of only three Filipinos who became presidents of their international federations, the other two being Florencio Campomanes (FIDE orWorld Chess Federation) and Gonzalo “Lito” Puyat II (FIBA or International Basketball Federation).

The PBF, which named Hontiveros as its honorary lifetime president, will hold its election of officers on February 2. —

Newspapers in Tagalog

Newspapers from Philippines

© PressReader. All rights reserved.