Ce­buano spik­ers make ros­ter for SEAG

Cebu Daily News - - FRONT PAGE - By John Carlo Vil­laruel COR­RE­SPON­DENT

Four Ce­buano spik­ers are in the cusp of don­ning the na­tion’s tri­col­ors in the 2017 South­east Asian Games (SEAG) in Malaysia af­ter they were se­lected in the 18-man ros­ter of the Philip­pine Men’s Vol­ley­ball Team.

A source from the na­tional squad told CEBU DAILY NEWS Fri­day morn­ing that 2015 Ce­safi Most Valu­able Player Dave Cabaron, John Ken­neth Sarcena, John Ed­uard Caras­cal and Re­lan Ta­neo have cracked the 18-man lineup which will be trimmed to 12, less than a week be­fore the bi­en­nial SEAG.

Men’s na­tional team men­tor Sin­fro­nio Acay­lar also con­firmed on Fri­day after­noon that he has al­ready made the se­lec­tion at the Arel­lano Gym and ad­mit­ted that it was tough for him to let go of some good players.

“I called up all the coaches. La­hat ng coaches pinapili ko ng 18 players. Ito na yung fi­nal. I think ito na yung mag­bibi­gay ng medal sa bansa natin” Acay­lar said.

Acay­lar added that the players who made the lineup were graded based not only on their vol­ley­ball skills but also their on ea­ger­ness and com­mit­ment to the team.

Among those who failed to make the cut were Ce­buano Rey Ta­neo, Mark Dex­imo, Howard Mo­jica, Peter Tor­res, Anjo Pertiera, and Ed­diemar and Es­mail Kasim.

The oth­ers who will join the four Ce­buanos in the 18-man lineup were team cap­tain John Vic de Guz­man, Bryan Ba­gu­nas, Bon­jo­mar Cas­tel, Her­schel Ramos, Mark Al­fa­fara, Al­nakran Ab­dilla, Reyson Fuentes, Jeff Mal­a­banan, Louwie Chaves, Geuel Asia, Peter Quiel, Gre­go­rio Dolor Jack Kal­ingk­ing and Ed­ward Cam­posano.

Mean­while, the 18-women team will be led by multi-ti­tled Alyssa Valdez along­side Den­den Lazaro, Dawn Ma­can­dili, Abe­gail Maraño, Gen Ca­sugod, Maika Or­tiz, Mika Reyes, Lour­des Cle­mente, Jaja San­ti­ago and Aiza Pon­til­las.

Com­plet­ing the women’s team are Jove­lyn Gon­zaga, Kath­leen Arado, Ces Molina, Rachel Anne Daquis, Ria Me­ne­ses, Kim Fa­jardo, Rhea Di­mac­u­lan­gan and Roselle Bali­ton.


PROUD CE­BUANOS. The four Ce­buano spik­ers who are in­cluded in the 18-man squad for the 2017 South­east Asian Games (SEAG) flank men's na­tional team men­tor Sin­fro­nio Acay­lar. The four are John Ken­neth Sarcena, Re­lan Ta­neo, Dave Cabaron and John Ed­uard Caras­cal.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Philippines

© PressReader. All rights reserved.