Peo­ple’s & Me­dia’s Choice Award win­ners

The Philippine Star - - MOTORING -

A to­tal of 71 awards were given out last Thurs­day, November 9 at the Grand Ball­room of Valle Verde Coun­try Club in Pasig City in the com­bined Auto Fo­cus Peo­ple’s & Me­dia’s Choice Awards for 2017. The Toy­ota For­tuner gar­nered it 3rd Au­to­mo­bile of the Year Award—Peo­ple’s Choice (Stan­dard), so far the only du­pli­ca­tion of the 3-peat dis­tinc­tion, which was first achieved last year by sta­ble mate Vios earn­ing them highly dis­tinc­tive slots in the awards’ elite Hall of Fame. On the other hand, the Lexus RX350 run away with the Au­to­mo­bile of the Year ti­tle for the Pre­mium/Lux­ury cat­e­gory reg­is­ter­ing back-to-back wins but in a more chal­leng­ing fash­ion this year with 3 other mod­els hot on its heels all through­out the polling pe­riod that ended mid­night of Oc­to­ber 31. A to­tal of 12 mod­els were also given recog­ni­tion as the year’s ‘most pre­ferred mod­els’ in the Stan­dard cat­e­gory while 10 Pre­mium/Lux­ury mod­els earned their sim­i­lar ‘Mod­els of the Year’ (MOY) awards. Honda brought home the most num­ber of MOY awards with 6 in the Stan­dard cat­e­gory: City (Sub­com­pact), Civic (Com­pact Sedan), Ac­cord (Mid­size Sedan), BR-V (Sub­com­pact SUV/ Cross­over), CR-V (Com­pact SUV/ Cross­over), and Pi­lot (Large SUV/ Cross­over).

Toy­ota snatched 2 wins: Wigo (Mini) and Hilux (Pickup), which was matched by Mit­subishi: Ad­ven­ture (MPV) and Mon­tero Sport (Mid­size SUV/ Cross­over). One award each went to the Subaru WRX (Sports Car) and the

Nissan Ur­van (Van). For the Pre­mium/Lux­ury MOY awards, the RX350 (Mid­size SUV/ Cross­over) led 6 other Lexus mod­els into the win­ners’ cir­cle: IS360 (Com­pact Sedan), ES350 (Mid­size Sedan), LS460 (Large Sedan), RCF (Sports Car), NX200t (Com­pact SUV/Cross­over), and the LX570 (Large SUV/Cross­over). One ti­tle each was awarded to the BMW 1-Series (Sub-com­pact), Mercedes Benz B-Class (MPV) and the Honda Odyssey (Van). The other half of the evening’s award­giv­ing cer­e­monies was set aside for the ex­act­ing choices of the mo­tor­ing me­dia. As this started, ex­cite­ment mounted among guests from the lo­cal auto in­dus­try com­posed of top ex­ec­u­tives and their as­so­ciates lead by Ms. Maricar Parco, pres­i­dent of Asian Car­mak­ers (BMW), Noriyuki Takakura, pres­i­dent of Honda Cars Philip­pines, Frankie Ang, COO of Auto Na­tion Group (Mercedes-Benz), Glen Dasig, pres­i­dent of Euro Brands Dis­trib­u­tor (Peu­geot), Atty. Al­bert Ar­cilla, pres­i­dent of Car Covenant Com­pany (Chevrolet), Ray­mond Ro­driguez, pres­i­dent of Lexus-Manila, Sho­jiro Sakoda, EVP (Isuzu Philip­pines), Dave Ma­casa­dia, man­ag­ing di­rec­tor of Ssangyong Philip­pines, Froy Dy­tian­quin, first VP (Mit­subishi Philip­pines), Art Bal­madrid, vice pres­i­dent of Taj Auto Group (Tata) Franz De­cloedt, mar­ket­ing di­rec­tor (Volkswagen Philip­pines), Christo­pher Yu, se­nior mar­ket­ing mgr. (Volvo Philip­pines), Dave Asun­cion, GM sales & mar­ket­ing (Mazda Philip­pines) and mar­ket­ing ex­ec­u­tives, Dino Obias and Dax Avenido (Nissan Philip­pines).

Due recog­ni­tion was con­ferred upon win­ners of the “2017-2018 Auto Fo­cus Me­dia’s Choice Awards” (AFMCA), an equally im­por­tant com­po­nent of STV’s Au­to­mo­bile In­dus­try Merit Pro­gram. The AFMCA’s aim is to fur­ther rec­og­nize the au­to­mo­bile in­dus­try’s con­tin­u­ing ef­forts to pro­vide car own­ers and mo­torists with the best on-board features, styling, per­for­mance and over­all value. A se­lect group of rec­og­nized mo­tor­ing me­dia pro­fes­sion­als and prac­ti­tion­ers com­prised the AFMCA Vot­ers’ Panel for a special poll that was held at the STV of­fice on Wed­nes­day, Oc­to­ber

18 and wit­nessed by key au­to­mo­bile rep­re­sen­ta­tives. The AFMCA awards main­tain strict ma­jor­ity cri­te­ria. A

‘Me­dia’s Choice Award’ may only be earned via a ma­jor­ity per­cent­age of the to­tal votes cast in a model’s spe­cific per­for­mance cat­e­gory. There were only 47 win­ners out of the 88 award cat­e­gories. Here are the win­ners: Best De­sign - Stan­dard: 7 Awardees (MPV)

Chevrolet Spark (Mini); Mazda 2 (Sub­com­pact Sedan); Honda Civic (Com­pact Sedan); Mazda MX-5 (Sports Car); SsangYong Tivoli (Sub­com­pact SUV/ Cross­over); Ford Ex­plorer (Large SUV/ Cross­over); Toy­ota In­nova (MPV) Best De­sign - Pre­mium/Lux­ury: 5 Awardees Lexus IS350 (Com­pact Sedan); BMW 5-Series (Mid­size Sedan); Lexus RX350 (Mid­size SUV); Mercedes Benz B-Class (MPV); Toy­ota Al­phard (Van) Best En­gine Per­for­mance - Stan­dard: 8 Awardees Honda Brio (Mini); Mazda 2 (Sub­com­pact Sedan); Honda Civic (Com­pact Sedan); Ford Mus­tang (Sports Car); Subaru XV (Sub­com­pact SUV/ Cross­over); Mit­subishi Mon­tero Sport (Mid­size SUV/Cross­over); Toy­ota In­nova (MPV); Hyundai Grand Starex (Van) Best En­gine Per­for­mance – Pre­mium/ Lux­ury: 7 Awardees MINI Cooper (Sub­com­pact Sedan); BMW 5-Series (Mid­size Sedan); Porsche Panam­era (Large Sedan); Porsche Ma­can (Com­pact SUV/Cross­over); Porsche Cayenne (mid­size SUV/ Cross­over); BMW 2-Series Ac­tive Tourer (MPV); Toy­ota Al­phard (Van) Best Safety Features – Stan­dard: 4 Awardees Mit­subishi Mon­tero Sport (Mid­size SUV); Ford Ex­plorer (Large SUV/ Cross­over); Ford Ranger (Pick-up); Volkswagen Touran (MPV) Best Safety Features – Pre­mium/Lux­ury: 6 Awardees Mercedes Benz A-Class (Sub-com­pact

Sedan); Volvo S90 (Large Sedan); Volvo V60 Cross Coun­try (Mid­size SUV/Cross­over); Volvo XC-90 (Large SUV/Cross­over); Mercedes Benz B-Class (MPV); Mercedes Benz V-Class (Van) Best Value-for-Money – Stan­dard: 6 Awardees Suzuki Cele­rio (Mini); Toy­ota 86 (Sports Car); Nissan Juke (Sub­com­pact SUV/ Cross­over); Isuzu MU-X (Mid­size SUV/ Cross­over); Isuzu DMax (Pickup) Best Value-for-Money – Pre­mium/Lux­ury: 5 Awardees Lexus IS350 (Com­pact Sedan); ES350 (Mid­size Sedan); Toy­ota Land Cruiser 200 (Large SUV); Peu­geot 5008 (MPV); Honda Odyssey (Van) Con­grat­u­la­tions to all the win­ners! In a few weeks time we shall have a TV Special fea­tur­ing the award­ing, which will be shown on Auto Fo­cus (So­lar Sports, 10PM Thurs­day) and on­line TV Stream­ing on (www.aut­o­fo­ Happy Mo­tor­ing!!! For com­ments and in­quiries email sun­shine.tele­vi­sion@ya­

Stand­ing from left: Gerry Aquino, Butch Gam­boa, Froy Dy­tian­quin Seated from left: Dong Magsajo, Ray­mond Ro­driguez, Yuichiro Suzuki

Lux­ury Au­to­mo­bile of the Year (Lexus RX350)

Stan­dard Au­to­mo­bile of the Year (Toy­ota For­tuner)

This writer with Noriyuki Takakura, pres­i­dent and GM of HCPI and Dave Ma­casa­dia, man­ag­ing di­rec­tor of Mazda Philip­pines

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Philippines

© PressReader. All rights reserved.