Na­tional ti­tle de­ciders amidst on­go­ing bat­tles

THE MOTORSPORT LAP/ Mo­toGP and do­mes­tic cham­pi­onship track ac­tion in our wrap of the week’s racing

Business Day - Motor News - - MOTOR NEWS - Mo­tor News Re­porter

It was a drenched 13th round of Mo­toGP at the San Marino cir­cuit in Misano, Italy, the damp con­di­tions re­quir­ing the riders to prove their met­tle. In the top-tier Mo­toGP class, the charg­ing Marc Mar­quez (Rep­sol Honda) crossed the line ahead of Danilo Petrucci (Octo Pra­mac) and An­drea Dovizioso (Du­cati Team).

In the Moto2 class, Do­minic Aegeter (Kiefer Racing Suter) won ahead of Thomas Luthi (Carx­pert In­ter­wet­ten Kalex) and Hafizh Syahrin (Petronas Race­line Malaysia Kalex). South African Red Bull KTM rider, Brad Bin­der, fin­ished fifth.

In Moto3, Ro­mano Fe­nati (Marinelli Ri­va­cold Snipers Honda) took the lau­rels ahead of Joan Mir (Leop­ard Racing Honda) and Fabio Di Gian­nan­to­nio (Del Conca Gresini Honda).

The 2017 Ex­treme Fes­ti­val vis­ited the Western Cape’s Kil­lar­ney cir­cuit last Satur­day and treated a large crowd to na­tional cham­pi­onship racing, with ti­tles fi­nalised in the En­gen Volk­swa­gen Cup and In­vestchem For­mula 1600 cham­pi­onships.

In the Sa­sol Global Tour­ing Car (GTC) races, a ti­tanic bat­tle for the ti­tle con­tin­ued be­tween Michael Stephen (En­gen Xtreme Audi) and Gen­naro Bon­afede (Sa­sol BMW). Bon­afede won the open­ing heat, one tenth of a sec­ond ahead of Stephen af­ter a 10lap race bat­tle.

They were fol­lowed by Si­mon Moss (En­gen Xtreme Audi). The sec­ond race went to Stephen fol­lowed by Bon­afede and Moss.


In the GTC2 class, vic­tory went to Trevor Bland (TB VW Golf GTI), fol­lowed by Charl Smal­berger (Nathan’s Golf GTI) and Mandla Mdakane (VW Motorsport Golf GTI).

Kea­gan Masters (VW Motorsport Golf GTI), who made an off-track ex­cur­sion in the first race, re­turned to win race two, fol­lowed by Shorter, Smal­berger and Bland.

Lo­cal hero Dawie Jou­bert took his Mo­tul Lo­tus Ex­ige Honda to the open­ing G and H Transport Ex­treme Su­per­car race win, ahead of Mar­cel An­gel (Au­to­haus An­gel Fer­rari 458 GT3) and Craig Jarvis (Panacea Fer­rari 458 GT3).

In race two, both Jou­bert’s Lo­tus and Franco Scrib­ante’s Porsche blew tur­bocharg­ers, which left An­gel to win ahead of Jarvis and Dawie Olivier (G and H Transport BMW M3).

The day’s clos­est fin­ish was in the En­gen Volk­swa­gen Cup cat­e­gory. Tas­min Pep­per (Cam­pos Polo) beat Shaun la Re­serve (Alpine Mo­tors Polo) to the flag by five hun­dredths of a sec­ond, with Jef­frey Kruger (Uni­ver­sal Health Polo) third.

Cham­pi­onship leader Devin Robert­son, who suf­fered gear­box mal­adies with his Payen Polo, fin­ished ninth. How­ever, he won the sec­ond race, ahead of Kruger and Pep­per, to take the 2017 En­gen Volk­swa­gen Cup cham­pi­onship.

An­other South African cham­pion was crowned in the In­vestchem For­mula 1600 cat­e­gory. Ju­lian van der Watt (RDSA My­gale) led from start to fin­ish, beat­ing Jo­sua Dolin­schek (My­gale Ford) and Dean Ven­ter (Desco My­gale) in sec­ond and third spots.

Van der Watt won race two as well, fol­lowed by Dolin­schek and Liam Pien­aar (Phoenix Jewellers My­gale).

Graeme van Breda (Ivid ZX10R) won the two Red Square Kawasaki Masters races. In the first he was chased to the flag by Sven Grune (Kawasaki ZX10) and Pi­eter de Vos (Kawa­sai ZX10). Van Breda re­peated the win in the sec­ond race ahead of Jaco Gous (Cen­tral Prop­shaft ZX10) and Grune.


Jaco Schriks (Cubed Coat­ings Rhema) won the two Hankook For­mula Vee races. He fin­ished ahead of Peter Hills (Lube­fu­sion Rhema) and Siyabonga Mankonkwana (Cervinia Rhema) in the first race. In race two, Lushen Ram­chan­der (Mi­ami Prod­ucts Forza) and Hills fin­ished in sec­ond and third.

Shane du Toit (S and S Meat VW Golf) won the two races for Mi­das Club­mans Saloon Cars, chased to the flag by Michael le Sueur (New En­gi­neer­ing Golf). Danie van Niekerk (Wing­field Mo­tors BMW 325i Turbo) and Clint Ren­nard (Speed Pre­ci­sion Golf) took turns on the fi­nal podium step.

The next round of the 2017 Ex­treme Fes­ti­val series will be held at the Kyalami cir­cuit on Novem­ber 4.

Devin Robert­son (Payen Polo) se­cured the En­gen Volk­swa­gen Cup ti­tle at Kil­lar­ney.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from South Africa

© PressReader. All rights reserved.