Cape Times - - SPORT -

Lap dis­tance: 5.065km. To­tal dis­tance: 308.828km (61 laps) 2016 pole: Nico Ros­berg (Ger­many) Mercedes one minute 42.584 sec­onds. 2016 win­ner: Ros­berg Race lap record: Daniel Ric­cia­rdo (Aus­tralia) Red Bull, 2016. 1:47.187. Start time: 1200 GMT (20h00 lo­cal) WINS Triple world cham­pion Lewis Hamil­ton has 59 ca­reer vic­to­ries from 201 races and is sec­ond in the all-time list be­hind Michael Schu­macher (91). Fer­rari’s Se­bas­tian Vet­tel has 46. Cham­pi­ons Mercedes have won eight of 13 races this sea­son. Fer­rari have won 228 races since 1950, McLaren 182, Wil­liams 114, Mercedes 72 and Red Bull 53. For­mer cham­pi­ons McLaren and Wil­liams have not won since 2012. There have been four dif­fer­ent win­ners this sea­son so far - Hamil­ton, Vet­tel, Ric­cia­rdo and Valt­teri Bot­tas (Mercedes). POLE PO­SI­TION Hamil­ton has an all-time record of 69 ca­reer poles. Mercedes have been on pole in 66 of the last 71 races. Four driv­ers have started on pole this sea­son - Hamil­ton (eight times), Vet­tel (twice), Bot­tas (twice) and Fer­rari’s Kimi Raikko­nen. PODIUM Hamil­ton has 112 podi­ums to date and is sec­ond on the all-time list be­hind Schu­macher (155). Vet­tel has 96, Raikko­nen 88. POINTS Hamil­ton is three points clear of Vet­tel, who is not lead­ing the cham­pi­onship for the first time this sea­son. The only reg­u­lar driv­ers yet to score are Re­nault’s Jolyon Palmer and Sauber’s Marcus Eric­s­son. Vet­tel and Hamil­ton both have 18 scor­ing fin­ishes in a row. SIN­GA­PORE Sun­day’s race is the 10th in Sin­ga­pore, the first night-time grand prix upon its in­tro­duc­tion in 2008. Only four driv­ers have won at the Ma­rina Bay cir­cuit. Fer­nando Alonso (2008, 2010), Vet­tel (2011, 2012, 2013 and 2015), Hamil­ton (2009, 2014), Ros­berg (2016). Ev­ery one was al­ready, or went on to be­come, a world cham­pion. Red Bull have won the race three times, Fer­rari and Mercedes twice each. Red Bull’s Ric­cia­rdo has set the fastest lap for the past two years, fin­ish­ing sec­ond on both oc­ca­sions. Hamil­ton and Vet­tel have both been on pole three times in Sin­ga­pore. The race has been won from pole po­si­tion on seven oc­ca­sions. The low­est win­ning grid po­si­tion was Alonso, who came from 15th place in a now-no­to­ri­ous 2008 race where his Brazil­ian team mate Nel­son Pi­quet crashed his Re­nault de­lib­er­ately on team or­ders. There has been at least one safety car in­ter­ven­tion in ev­ery race in Sin­ga­pore so far. Last year it was de­ployed on the open­ing lap. The race is the long­est on the cal­en­dar in terms of time taken to com­plete. Last year’s lasted one hour and 55 min­utes. The win­ner in Sin­ga­pore has been cham­pion at the end of the sea­son in five of the last six years. Vet­tel has led 221 laps in Sin­ga­pore to Hamil­ton’s 135. The Ger­man has been on the podium six times to the Bri­ton’s four. MILE­STONE Nico Hulken­berg needs an un­likely top three fin­ish to avoid an un­wanted record, that of most starts with­out ever stand­ing on the podium. The Re­nault driver is cur­rently tied on 128 with Ger­many’s now-de­parted Adrian Su­til.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from South Africa

© PressReader. All rights reserved.