NC Cricket lads ready to bat­tle for T20 Cup hon­ours

Diamond Fields Advertiser - - SPORT - DAVE ALEXAN­DER AND COR­RE­SPON­DENT

THE FOURTH edi­tion of the Cricket South Africa (CSA) Africa T20 Cup kicks off to­day and will take place over two ac­tion-packed week­ends of cricket, in four dif­fer­ent cities, from Septem­ber 14-16 and Septem­ber 23-24, and the North­ern Cape Cricket (NCC) squad trav­elled down to Paarl yes­ter­day, to take their op­po­nents in Group D.

North­ern Cape Cricket pres­i­dent Ri­han Richards wished the NCC team all the best for the com­pe­ti­tion as well as for the up­com­ing sea­son, say­ing that scouts from other prov­inces will be watch­ing the play­ers with “keen eyes”, es­pe­cially the ones with good tal­ent, in or­der to en­hance their own squads.

The 20 par­tic­i­pat­ing teams are the 12 CSA Af­fil­i­ates, three As­so­ciate Mem­bers and five guest African coun­tries. They have been drawn into four pools of five, with the win­ners of each group ad­vanc­ing


(9.30am): NCC vs Lim­popo (1.30pm): North West vs NCC


(9.30am): NCC vs Nige­ria


(1pm): Boland vs NCC

through to the semi-fi­nals.

In a change from last year’s for­mat, the T20 show­piece will take place over two week­ends com­pared to the pre­vi­ous four, with de­fend­ing cham­pi­ons KwaZulu-Natal In­land (Pi­eter­mar­itzburg) along with Border (East Lon­don), South West­ern Dis­tricts (Oudt­shoorn) and Boland (Paarl) host­ing their re­spec­tive groups dur­ing this week­end (Septem­ber 14-16).

The hosts of the semi-fi­nals and fi­nal week­end will be de­pen­dent on which host teams ad­vance through their group phase as well as their host­ing ca­pa­bil­i­ties dur­ing the com­pe­ti­tion. This is set to take place on Septem­ber 23-24.

(Pi­eter­mar­itzburg) KwaZulu-Natal In­land KwaZulu-Natal Coastal

West­ern Province



(Oudt­shoorn) South West­ern Dis­tricts Zim­babwe



Free State Border

Eastern Province Kenya Mpumalanga Namibia

Boland North West

Lim­popo Nige­ria GROUPS:

(East Lon­don)

GLA­DI­A­TORS: Ab­sent: (back, from left): (Seated): Pic­ture: Dave Alexan­der

The North­ern Cape Cricket team cur­rently com­pet­ing in the Africa T20 Cup in Paarl are Avu­mile Mnci, Mtabozuko Ngam, Kag­isho Mo­hale, Jac­ques Sny­man, Nangamso Mqaleni, Ot­tneil Baart­man, Akhona Kula. Deon Caro­lus (as­sis­tant coach), Grant Mokoena (cap­tain), Loots Bos­man (coach), Kee­gan Petersen and Aubrey Swanepoel. Patrick Kruger, Farhaan Sayan­vala and Themba Maupa.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from South Africa

© PressReader. All rights reserved.