An infrequent – but sometimes tense – rules episode happens on the putting green in four-ball matches. Player A has a 10-foot putt for birdie, and his partner, Player B, has a five-footer for bogey, his ball on the same line as Player A. Their opponents concede Player B’s bogey putt, not wanting Player A to glean information on the break from his partner’s inconsequential putt. The tension occurs when Player B ignores the concession and putts anyway. What recourse, under the rules, do their opponents have?
If Player B elects to putt despite the concession, and his partner receives assistance from him doing so, Player A is disqualified from the hole. Player B’s bogey putt, having been conceded, stands as the side’s score for the hole (Decision 2-4/6).