Sub­bing a ball on the green

Golf Digest (South Africa) - - The Golf Life -

You used a beat-up ball to carry the wa­ter on a par 3, and you hit the green. If you switch to another ball to putt, you’d vi­o­late Rule 15-2 (re­sult­ing in loss of hole in a match or a two-shot penalty in stroke play). You can sub a ball dur­ing the play of a hole only if a rule per­mits you to do so (the orig­i­nal is deep in a wa­ter haz­ard), or if it has be­come unfit dur­ing play on that hole (e.g., cut, cracked or out of shape). Be­ing scuffed doesn’t count. If you think it’s unfit, no­tify your group about your in­ten­tion to re­place the ball so they’re given a chance to in­spect the ball be­fore you swap it.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from South Africa

© PressReader. All rights reserved.