Golf Digest (South Africa) - - Amateur Scene -

For the sec­ond con­sec­u­tive year 11 lo­cal play­ers won ma­jor pro­vin­cial events for the first time. They in­cluded 3 play­ers from Ekurhu­leni – Tea­gan Moore, An­gus El­lis-Cole and Dylan Mostert; three from the Western Cape – Herman Loub­ser, Carlo O’Reilly and An­dre Nel; two from Gaut­eng North – An­drew van der Knaap and Al­bert Ven­ter; plus Malcolm Mitchell (KZN), The­u­nis Bezuiden­hout (North West) and Dean Martin of Cen­tral Gaut­eng.

Four of the play­ers in the top 10 of the Golf Di­gest rank­ings – Darin de Smidt, Aubrey Beck­ley, Ru­pert Kamin­ski and Ja­son Smith – failed to win a tour­na­ment. Of the other six, only Tris­ten Stry­dom and Loub­ser were mul­ti­ple win­ners. One­time win­ners were Nel, Ven­ter, Teaghan Gauche and James du Preez.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from South Africa

© PressReader. All rights reserved.