Quiz on dropping.
You place a tee in the ground to help mark the area where you intend to drop and then let the ball fall.The ball lands and stops in the drop area, but not before skimming the tee. Should you re-drop? Watching your opponent take a drop, you see he holds the ball at shoulder height but icks his wrist as he lets the ball fall, putting extra spin on it. If you call him out for doing that, can he correct the mistake without penalty? Before taking a drop, you grab another ball from your bag and drop it to see what the outcome might be when it’s time to do it for real. Is this allowed? A bush within the proper drop area catches your ball on the way down, and the ball gets stuck in its branches without ever touching the ground. Re-drop? You drop a ball near the edge of a bunker, and it rolls in. Re-drop? As long as you extend your arm and let the ball fall from your hand, does it matter how high you position your arm? Your opponent attempts to drop within two clublengths of a lateral water hazard.The ball rolls into the hazard, requiring him to re-drop. Instead of doing that, can he choose another relief option – such as returning to the spot of his previous stroke? A course enacted a Local Rule allowing for a drop zone on its island par 3.You choose to use the zone after plunking one in the water.You drop your ball, and it hits inside the zone but rolls away from the hole ve centimetres outside the zone. Re-drop? You realise your ball will be lost forever in a water hazard after taking a drop outside the hazard but on the slope of its bank. Can you drop the ball and stop it from going into the water as long as you wait until after it crosses the margin of the hazard?