Your golf ball is shiny again, but is that a penalty? There are times during a round when the rules allow you to restore the pearly white nish to your golf ball, but there are times when you can’t. See if you know the di erence by answering “can” or “can’
A sliver of the ball is on the putting green, but the rest is on the fringe.
Before your tee shot, you address a ball, waggle the club and accidentally knock the ball o the tee.
Your ball plugs in thick rough and has a wad of mud attached to it.
After hitting into a water hazard, you decide to take a penalty stroke and pick the ball up.
Your ball is interfering with your opponent’s stance, so he asks that you mark and lift it.
You nd a ball covered in wet grass clippings and want to remove a little to determine whether it’s your ball.
You mark your ball’s position in the rough and pick it up after play is suspended because of a thunderstorm. Now it’s time to resume play, so you replace the ball back in the rough.
While searching for your ball, you nd it next to a mower parked by the maintenance shed, and the mower interferes with your stance.You can’t move it, so you decide to take relief.
You’re playing in a scramble, and it’s your turn to hit from the fairway.Your ball was scu ed a little from the tee shot, and you want to restore its luster.