A tee marker was up­rooted, so I stuck it back in the ground and teed off. Penalty?

Golf Digest (South Africa) - - The Golf Life -

Pos­si­bly not, but we wouldn’t rec­om­mend do­ing that again. Let course of­fi­cials (the “Com­mit­tee”) sort it out. If you were deemed to have gained an ad­van­tage by play­ing from the place you de­ter­mined to be the tee­ing ground, the stroke-play penalty is two shots. In match play, if you and your op­po­nent disagree where to tee from, you can make a claim be­fore ei­ther of you play from the next tee­ing ground, and the Com­mit­tee would re­solve the dis­pute. It’s the same if you had le­ the marker and es­ti­mated the tee­ing ground.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from South Africa

© PressReader. All rights reserved.