Golf Digest (South Africa) - - Senior News -

Con­so­la­tion for WP came with their Su­per Se­nior (60+) team of Ivan Pal­fra­man, An­ton Bezuiden­hout, Mark Hair and Tim He­wan win­ning the A divi­sion ti­tle for the sixth suc­ces­sive year. They nar­rowly edged Cen­tral Gaut­eng to re­main un­beaten, and have only lost once in the last four years. Pal­fra­man and Bezuiden­hout headed the MVP list with 8 points each out of 10, be­ing un­beaten in sin­gles. The Su­per Se­nior B divi­sion cham­pi­ons were the North West team of Pierre Lot­ter, Basil King, Shadrack Molefe and Lu­cas Le­beko.

The wide gulf be­tween teams in the A and B di­vi­sions at the Se­nior IPT was again ev­i­dent, and the time has come to re­duce the A divi­sion to seven teams, which would mean a bet­ter bal­ance be­tween the di­vi­sions. Last year’s B divi­sion win­ners East­ern Prov­ince failed to win a match in the top ech­e­lon and were once again rel­e­gated, as they were in 2014. Mpumalanga, rel­e­gated from the A divi­sion in 2015, won all their matches in the B divi­sion, so go straight back up.

The Mpumalanga team com­prised Steve Smit, Brian Naidoo, Kobus Clarence, Sarel van Heer­den, Steve Cullen, Gavin Light, An­dre Bas­son and Sakkie de Lange.

The win­ning WP Su­per Se­niors.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from South Africa

© PressReader. All rights reserved.