Can I Do That?

An­swer yes or no to the fol­low­ing sce­nar­ios

Golf Digest (South Africa) - - The Golf Life -

You’re not sure where your shot ended up. Can you pur­posely de­lay the start of your search un­til other mem­bers of your group ar­rive at the lo­ca­tion to as­sist? In a four­ball match, one of your op­po­nents hits his shot onto the green. To speed up play, can you mark the ball and pick it up be­fore he ar­rives to give you per­mis­sion? You’re won­der­ing how sat­u­rated a green has be­come on a rainy day. Can you place your hand on the green be­hind your ball’s po­si­tion to feel for mois­ture? On a par 3, you hit a shot that comes up a me­tre short of the green.As you’re walk­ing back to your bag, can you softly mur­mur that you wished you had used a 6-iron? Your shot winds up in a bunker, but you can’t find it be­cause it’s cov­ered in leaves. Can you probe through the leaves and sandy ground with your club to find your ball? You and your op­po­nent each hit two balls out-of-bounds off the tee. Equally em­bar­rassed, can you both agree to halve the hole and move on? Your ball is on a cart­path, so you take free re­lief and drop the ball. Un­for­tu­nately, the ball be­comes em­bed­ded in a muddy spot in the rough.Are you al­lowed to take re­lief for an em­bed­ded ball? Af­ter fin­ish­ing the front nine, you have to walk by the prac­tice putting green. Be­cause it’s on the way, can you stop, throw down a few balls, and hit some prac­tice putts be­fore walk­ing over to the 10th tee? Some of the grips on your clubs are so wet from a midround down­pour, they’re too slip­pery to use. Can you re­place them dur­ing the round with dry clubs that you have handy? Can you use a long put­ter to mea­sure club-lengths for any sit­u­a­tion where you’re en­ti­tled to re­lief? Yes No. Take a on­e­stroke penalty. Your part­ner is not pe­nalised, how­ever

Yes, as long as you do not roughen or scrape the sur­face or touch the line of the putt

Yes, as long as the state­ment was made ca­su­ally, and not to in­form an­other player or play­ers pre­par­ing to hit the same tee shot Yes Yes. Agree­ing to halve a hole be­ing played is OK pro­vided at least one of you has al­ready made a stroke.

No. You would be en­ti­tled if a Lo­cal Rule was in place al­low­ing re­lief for em­bed­ded balls “through the green.” Oth­er­wise, the ball would have had to be em­bed­ded in an area through the green cut to fair­way height or less Yes No

Yes

AN­SWERS 1. 2. 3. 4. 5. 6.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from South Africa

© PressReader. All rights reserved.