Golf Digest (South Africa) - - Amateur Scene -

◀ Lim­popo Open, Koro Creek SCORES: 70-69-67 (206) RUN­NER-UP: Herman Loub­ser 72-70-71 (213) HOW HE DID IT: The 19-year-old from Dain­fern was the only player to break par in all three rounds, lead­ing wire-to-wire for his first vic­tory since the 2015 North West Open. He had eight birdies in a fi­nal round 67, the low­est round of the tour­na­ment. NO­TABLE: More ev­i­dence of Mey­ers’ dom­i­nant per­for­mance is that only three play­ers fin­ished un­der par at Koro Creek.


◀ Bor­der Stroke­play, Fish River Sun CC SCORES: 70-70-68 (208) RUN­NER-UP: Luca Filippi 68-71-71- (210) HOW HE DID IT: Play­ing in his last home tour­na­ment be­fore de­part­ing for col­lege (Uni­ver­sity of Arkansas), the 18-year-old from Mod­der­fontein scored his first se­nior stroke­play vic­tory in tough con­di­tions. Naidoo had 14 birdies and just 3 bo­geys, but also took a triple bo­gey 8 at No 12 in the first round. NO­TABLE: In­ter­provin­cial play­ers got a taste of what to ex­pect at Fish River in windy Septem­ber, when they re­turn for the 56th IPT. Jay­den Schaper (Ebotse Links), 15, the SA U-15 cham­pion, won twice in five days in July, both times in play­offs. Schaper (74-72) out­lasted Ge-Rico Muller (Kroon­stad 72-74) in a 3-hole play­off at Pre­to­ria CC in the Tsh­wane Ju­nior Open. Ear­lier, at Mod­der­fontein in the No­mads In­land Na­tional Or­der of Merit, Schaper (67-77) beat Cole Stevens (Parkview) and Dy­lan Mostert (State Mines) on the first play­off hole. Christo Lamp­brecht (Oubaai) Deon Ger­mishuys (Strand) Jay­den Schaper (Ebotse) Bradley de Beer (Fan­court) Wilco Nien­aber (Bloem­fontein) Martin Vorster (Pin­na­cle Point) Chris Wool­lam (Gowrie Farm) An­dre van Dyk (Klerks­dorp) Reece Haikney (Rand­park)

Cole Stevens (Parkview)


His­tory was made at Hume­wood when Nel­son Man­dela Met­ro­pol­i­tan Uni­ver­sity won the Uni­ver­sity Sport SA Cham­pi­onship for the first time un­der their new name. Play­ing at home, their A team of Colin Baldie, Luke Jer­ling, Jac­ques Smith and Michael May­berry beat Tuks 4-2 in the fi­nal. Tuks had won the pre­vi­ous six years. Nel­son Man­dela was for­merly the Uni­ver­sity of PE, which won the old SA Uni­ver­si­ties ti­tle in 1988 with a team led by Dave Usendorff. Wilco Nien­aber (Bloem­fontein) is the new SA Un­der-17 cham­pion. Rounds of 69-71-70 at Kingswood in Ge­orge, in­clud­ing 17 birdies and an ea­gle, saw him win by four from Christo Lamp­brecht (Oubaai 71-74-69). The 16-year-old won the SA U-15 ti­tle last year. Chris Wool­lam was third on 216. (Kil­lar­ney) went to No 1 on the Mid-Am­a­teur rank­ings fol­low­ing his vic­tory in the North West Mid-Am­a­teur at Rusten­burg with a 70. The 44-year-old has won three times this year, other vic­to­ries com­ing in the Highveld and Cen­tral Gaut­eng events, plus he was third in the SA Mid-Am­a­teur. (Male­lane) shot 73-68 at Nel­spruit to win the Lowveld Mid-Am­a­teur by two from David Muller (Mod­der­fontein 72-71) and Jan­ne­man Com­brink (Male­lane 72-71). Ryan Dreyer, Ger­lou Roux, Shaun Sta­ple­ton, El­ton James, Josef Fourie, Ste­fan Blom­maert, Danie Viljoen, Steve Wil­liams, Neil Ho­mann, Wen­dell Bos­sen­ger. The list in­cludes three Wan­der­ers mem­bers, Sta­ple­ton, Ho­mann and Bos­sen­ger. The Indwe SA Se­nior Am­a­teur will be played at Kyalami CC from Oc­to­ber 19-21. The for­mat re­turns to 54 holes, af­ter the 72-hole ex­per­i­ment at Hume­wood last year, and the field will be lim­ited to 144 play­ers, with a 36-hole cut for the lead­ing 65 and ties.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from South Africa

© PressReader. All rights reserved.