KZN end long drought at Coun­try Dis­tricts

Golf Digest (South Africa) - - Amateur Scene -

KwaZulu-Na­tal emerged from the wilder­ness at the SA Coun­try Dis­tricts tour­na­ment to re­claim the De­war Chal­lenge Shield for the first time since 2009.Af­ter spend­ing the last three years in the B sec­tion, Corne van Deven­ter’s team used home course ad­van­tage to edge de­fend­ing cham­pi­ons North West on a games countout in a tense fi­nal day at San Lameer Coun­try Club.

The tour­na­ment was marred by wet weather on the South Coast which pre­vented any play the first two days, but the full pro­gramme was com­pleted through do­ing away with the four­somes un­til the fi­nal day. KZN lost to North West in their open­ing match, but won the other three, while North West sur­pris­ingly lost to Boland, who were rel­e­gated. Each fin­ished with six log points, but KZN had 28 game points to North West’s 26.

KZN re­tained five play­ers who took the team back to the A sec­tion at Nel­spruit last year, and Derek Scullard (Kwambonambi), Koe­nie Eras­mus (Umh­lali) and Jens Hiller­man (Noods­berg) were the top per­form­ers, un­beaten in sin­gles.The other team mem­bers wereVan Deven­ter, Ryno Crous, Gra­ham Fabri­cius, Sean Baker and Thomas Lovett.

North West, af­ter win­ning the B sec­tion in 2012, and then the De­war for the first time in 2013, have had a great six-year run in the SACD, never worse than sec­ond, with 20 wins, three de­feat sand two halves. Al dr eT er blanc he, An­dre van Dyk and Jo hanK ru gel were all at the top of the MVP list.

Lim­popo won the B sec­tion (the last time was 2009) with four wins, and their team com­prised Jay van der Walt, Morne My­burgh (who headed the MVP list), Peter Mase­hela, An­thony Hawken, Pi­eter Peens, Franco Put­ter, Ed­win Mack­ays and Male­bana Pataki.

The win­ning KZN Coun­try Dis­tricts team. Back row, from left, Koe­nie Eras­mus, Corne van Deven­ter (cap­tain), Ryno Crous, Gra­ham Fabri­cius and Wy­nand de Swardt (man­ager). Front row, Thomas Lovett, Sean Baker, Derek Scullard and Jens Hiller­man.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from South Africa

© PressReader. All rights reserved.